NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Causes of Infertility
in Men

1. Poor sperm quality
2. Ejaculatory duct obstruction
3. Absence of sperm in the semen (azoospermia)
4. Genetic diseases
5. Malignant diseases


1. Poor sperm quality

In order to fertilize an oocyte, it takes millions of motile sperm (spermiogram/semen analysis). However, only a few of them actually reach the fallopian tube. In order for fertilization to occur, the oocyte in the uterine tube must be surrounded by several hundred sperm cells. If motile spermatozoa are not present in the tube in sufficient numbers, fertilization cannot take place. In most cases, the cause of this can be found not only in a hormone deficiency. In the majority of cases, disorders that affect the testes themselves are responsible for the problems. Such disturbances are usually difficult to treat. Special examinations are needed for further clarification. Attempts can be made, through the regular supply of certain micronutrients, vitamins or hormones, to increase the number and/or quality of sperm.

Article on our
:
Spermiogram

2. Ejaculatory duct obstruction

Blockage in seminal ducts can be linked to inherited diseases (cystic fibrosis / mucoviscidosis) or result from inflammation, previous surgery / male sterilization (vasectomy) or traumas (injuries). Surgical sperm retrieval techniques, such as TESA / TESE may be used to extract the spermatozoa required for IVF directly from the testicles. One of the pioneers in this field, Dr. Pierre Vanderzwalmen, has been part of the team at the IVF Centers Prof. Zech for over 25 years now. It is partly thanks to him and his great commitment that today children can be conceived through the use of testicular sperm after being processed in the laboratory (worldwide first successful TESE in 1993).

3. Absence of sperm in the semen (azoospermia)

Due to malignant diseases requiring the surgical removal of part of the testes as well as subsequent chemotherapy/radiotherapy, sperm production may be permanently impaired. Here, precautionary sperm banking can help ensure the possibility of conception in the future. Impaired sperm production (spermatogenesis) can occur spontaneously or be associated with genetic disorders. In some cases, the problem can only be overcome by means of donor sperm.. Sometimes it may also be possible to extract sperm from a tissue sample obtained by testicular biopsy.

4. Genetic diseases

Genetic disorders in humans may result in serious diseases and may also have an adverse effect on fertility, leading for instance to reproductive impairment, miscarriage etc. Particularly for those couples who had to face a number of setbacks in the past, and who are now willing to use assisted reproductive technology (ART) to address their infertility issues, the linking of reproductive medicine and genetics might be a real blessing (Learn more).

5. Malignant diseases

Patients suffering from malignant diseases need therapies that are tailored to their individual situation. This may include, for instance, radical surgery and/or chemotherapy and/or radiation. Any such treatment can result in permanent infertility, since the testicles may irretrievably lose their ability to produce adequate sperm. In order to preserve male fertility, testicular tissue or ejaculate sperm can be frozen (cryopreserved) for future use (along with the partner's eggs) in IVF/ICSI/IMSI treatment. For many years now, we, at our IVF centers have concerned ourselves intensively with the subject of freezing techniques (see "cryopreservation").

An in-depth clarification is needed to establish the causes why your dream of having a child has not yet been fulfilled. Our team of highly skilled specialists at the IVF center will be happy to assess your individual situation. For this purpose, a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic options is available to them.

CONTACT

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Unerfüllter Kinderwunsch

← zurück zur Startseite

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Unerfüllter Kinderwunsch

Ursachen für den unerfüllten Kinderwunsch
bei Männern

1. Unzureichende Samenqualität
2. Verschlossene Samenleiter
3. Fehlen der Samen (Azoospermie)
4. Genetische Erkrankungen
5. Bösartige Erkrankungen


1. Unzureichende Samenqualität

Zur Befruchtung einer Eizelle sind viele Millionen beweglicher Samenzellen (Spermiogramm) notwendig. Von diesen erreichen jedoch nur wenige den Eileiter. Die Eizelle muss im Eileiter von mehreren 100 Samenzellen umgeben sein, um befruchtet zu werden. Wenn also zu wenig bewegliche Spermien vorhanden sind, kann es zu keiner Befruchtung (Fertilisierung) kommen. Die Ursache dafür ist selten durch einen Hormon - Mangel allein begründet. Meist handelt es sich um Störungen im Hoden selbst, welche sich nicht so leicht behandeln lassen. Zur Diagnostik sind spezielle Untersuchungen erforderlich. Mit Hilfe von Spurenelementen und Vitaminen, oder durch Hormongaben kann versucht werden, die Anzahl und/oder Qualität der Samenzellen zu erhöhen.

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Spermiogramm

2. Verschlossene Samenleiter

Verursacht durch genetische Erkrankungen (Zystische Fibrose / Mukoviszidose), nach Entzündungen, nach Operationen / Sterilisationen oder Verletzungen kann es sein, dass die Samenleiter verschlossen sind. Hier können mit Hilfe der TESA / TESE die erforderlichen Samen direkt aus dem Hoden gewonnen werden. Einer der Pioniere auf diesem Gebiet, Dr. Pierre Vanderzwalmen, ist mittlerweile bereits 25 Jahre im Team der IVF Zentren Prof. Zech. Ihm ist es u.a. zu verdanken, dass durch labortechnische Aufarbeitung von Samen, direkt aus dem Hoden entnommen (weltweit erste erfolgreiche TESE 1993), Kinder gezeugt werden können.

3. Fehlen der Samen (Azoospermie)

Nach bösartigen Erkrankungen, die mit teilweiser Entfernung der Hoden sowie anschließender Chemotherapie / Bestrahlung behandelt wurden, kann die Samenproduktion vollständig zum Erliegen kommen. Wenn hier primär Samen tiefgefroren wurden, können diese zur Befruchtung von Eizellen (Fertilisierung) später verwendet werden. Auch spontan vorkommend oder durch genetische Erkrankungen bedingt kann es sein, dass keine Samenproduktion (Spermatogenese) stattfindet. Hier hilft nur eine Samenspende. In bestimmten Fällen kann Samen nach Biopsie im Hoden (TESE) gefunden werden.

4. Genetische Erkrankungen

Genetische Störungen können im Menschen teils schwerwiegende Erkrankungen auslösen und sich negativ auf unsere Fruchtbarkeit auswirken. Dies kann z.B. zu Beeinträchtigungen der Fortpflanzungsorgane, bis hin zu Fehlgeburten führen. Besonders für jene Paare, die bereits einige Rückschläge hinnehmen mussten und versuchen mit medizinischer Hilfe schwanger zu werden, kann ggf. die Verknüpfung von Reproduktionsmedizin und Genetik zur Erfüllung ihres Kinderwunsches beitragen (mehr Infos).

5. Bösartige Erkrankungen

Patienten mit bösartigen Erkrankungen benötigen individuelle Therapien, z.B. radikale Operationen und/oder Chemotherapien und/oder Bestrahlungen. Alle diese Behandlungen können eine andauernde Unfruchtbarkeit bewirken, da dadurch die Produktion von Samenzellen im Hoden oft unwiederbringlich gestört wird. Um die Fortpflanzungsfähigkeit zu erhalten, gibt es das Tiefgefrieren von Hodengewebe oder von Samen nach Ejakulation. Bei späterem Kinderwunsch können diese mit den Eizellen der Partnerin mittels der IVF/ICSI/IMSI Technik befruchtet werden. Unsere Zentren beschäftigen sich schon seit vielen Jahren sehr intensiv mit den Techniken des Tiefgefrierens (siehe "Kryokonservierung").

Herauszufinden warum sich Ihr Kinderwunsch bislang nicht erfüllt hat, erfordert eine genaue Abklärung der Ursachen – am besten gleich durch unsere Spezialisten im IVF-Zentrum, die mit einer Reihe von Diagnose- und Therapiemöglichkeiten individuell weiterhelfen können.

KONTAKT