NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Blastocyst Culture

← zurück zur Startseite

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Blastocyst Culture

Blastocyst Culture

The core of treatment at our IVF centers is blastocyst culture which allows for the detailed assessment of embryo quality. The fertilization of the oocytes with the sperm takes place outside the female body in the laboratory (IVF/ICSI/IMSI). The fertilized eggs are transferred into a special culture medium and placed in an incubator in order to grow into embryos. Cutting-edge laboratory technology enables the close monitoring and evaluation of embryonic development. Once the embryos have reached a specific stage of development (blastocyst = embryo capable of initiating implantation), those with the highest implantation potential (maximum of 2 embryos) are selected and can subsequently be placed in the woman's uterus. (see "Embryo Transfer").

1. Why opt for embryo transfer at the blastocyst stage?
2. Benefits of blastocyst culture

Schematic display of fertility treatment with ICSI and blastocyst culture
│ © 2019 Shutterstock/IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

1. Why opt for embryo transfer at the blastocyst stage?

The term "reproductive medicine" already implies the goal of this specialist area, namely to understand and imitate nature down to the smallest detail. Based on the current state of scientific knowledge, blastocyst culture is a key factor in the successful treatment outcome. In IVF treatment involving blastocyst culture (see schematic display above), the fertilization of the oocytes with the sperm takes place outside the female body in the laboratory (IVF/ICSI/IMSI). The fertilized eggs are transferred into a special culture medium and placed in an incubator in order to grow into embryos. Cutting-edge laboratory techniques enable the close monitoring and detailed assessment of embryonic development.

Visual depiction of embryonic development in the culture medium from the moment of fertilization up to the blastocyst stage │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

Once the embryos have reached a specific stage of development (blastocyst = embryo capable of initiating implantation), they are transferred to the woman's uterus (see "Embryo Transfer"). In an ideal scenario, embryo transfer is carried out on the 5th day following fertilization which, in normal conception, corresponds to the time when an embryo has travelled via the fallopian tube to the womb in order to attach to the uterine wall. Performing embryo transfer on day 2 or day 3 following oocyte pick-up is at least 2 days too early compared to the in vivo situation. Why is that? Maturation, fertilization and the first 3 cell division cycles are primarily dependent upon the egg cell. The genetic influence of the male sperm does come into play no earlier than from the 3rd day after fertilization and leads to the activation of the embryonic genome (see graph below). This means that blastocyst culture and embryo transfer on day 5 are best suited – according to the state of the art in science and technology – for ensuring that an accurate assessment can be made of the embryo’s potential for implantation.

Graphic representation of the transcriptional activity during embryonic development
│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

2. Benefits of blastocyst culture

The advantages of transferring blastocyst stage embryos on day 5 of culture over embryo transfer on either day 2 or day 3 are supported by numerous high quality publications:

  • Better synchronization between uterus (womb) and early embryonic development.
  • Condition and quality of the embryo can now be assessed. It is thus possible to select from a given cohort the embryos with the greatest developmental potential for transfer.
  • Reduced uterine contractile activity from day 5 onwards. This lowers the likelihood of the transferred embryos being expelled from the womb.
  • Greater chance of successful implantation (in the womb)

Blastocyst culture combined with optimized stimulation protocols and transfer techniques offer favorable conditions for achieving successful outcomes. The key prerequisites for achieving such results are excellently equipped laboratories, highly-qualified biologists and longstanding experience in this field.


Univ. Prof. Dr. Herbert Zech

'Founder'
IVF Zentren Prof. Zech

In 1996, we became the world's first IVF centers to introduce a systematic implementation of blastocyst culture, thus setting standards at the international level. This treatment method, which is aimed at improving the chances of pregnancy, is now regarded as "state-of-the-art" in reproductive medicine. Therefore, our team can now look back on know-how gained from more than 20 years of experience in successful IVF treatment involving extended blastocyst culture.

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Blastozystenkultur

← zurück zur Startseite

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Blastozystenkultur

Blastozystenkultur

Kern der Behandlung in unseren IVF-Zentren ist die Blastozystenkultur mit Beurteilung der Embryoqualität. Dabei erfolgt die Befruchtung der Eizellen mit den Spermien außerhalb des weiblichen Körpers, im Labor (IVF/ICSI/IMSI). Die befruchteten Eizellen werden in einen Inkubator ("Brutschrank") gegeben, wo sie in einem speziellen Kulturmedium zu Embryonen heranwachsen. Die Embryonalentwicklung kann mittels modernster Labortechnik sehr genau beobachtet und beurteilt werden. Haben die Embryonen ein bestimmtes Entwicklungsstadium (Blastozyste = einnistungsfähiger Embryo) erreicht, werden jene Embryonen (max. 2) ausgewählt und in die Gebärmutter der Frau eingebracht, welche das höchste Einnistungspotential aufweisen (siehe "Embryo-Transfer").

1. Warum ist ein Embryo-Transfer im Blastozystenstadium sinnvoll?
2. Vorteile einer Blastozystenkultur

Schematische Darstellung einer Kinderwunschbehandlung mit ICSI und Blastozystenkultur
│ © 2019 Shutterstock/IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

1. Warum ist ein Embryo-Transfer im Blastozystenstadium sinnvoll?

Bereits aus dem Begriff Reproduktionsmedizin lässt sich das Ziel dieses Fachgebiets der Medizin ableiten. Nämlich die Natur möglichst bis ins kleinste Detail zu verstehen und zu kopieren. Basierend auf dem heutigen Stand der Wissenschaft spielt hierbei die Blastozystenkultur eine zentrale Rolle. Bei einer Behandlung mit Blastozystenkultur (siehe schematische Darstellung oben) erfolgt die Befruchtung der Eizellen mit den Spermien außerhalb des weiblichen Körpers, im Labor (IVF/ICSI/IMSI). Die befruchteten Eizellen werden in einen Inkubator („Brutschrank“) gegeben, wo sie in einem speziellen Kulturmedium zu Embryonen heranwachsen. Die Embryonalentwicklung kann mittels modernster Labortechnik sehr genau beobachtet und beurteilt werden.

Abbildung der Embryonalentwicklung im Kultur-Medium vom Zeitpunkt der Befruchtung bis zum Blastozystenstadium │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

Haben die Embryonen ein bestimmtes Entwicklungsstadium (Blastozyste = einnistungsfähiger Embryo) erreicht, werden diese in die Gebärmutter der Frau eingebracht (siehe Embryo-Transfer). Dies erfolgt idealerweise am 5. Tag nach der Befruchtung, was jenem Zeitpunkt entspricht, an dem ein Embryo bei natürlicher Fortpflanzung vom Eileiter in die Gebärmutter gewandert ist und sich dann einnistet. Beim Transfer von Embryonen am Tag 2, bzw. Tag 3 nach der Follikelpunktion ist dies mindestens 2 Tage zu früh im Vergleich zur in vivo Situation. Warum? Die Reifung, Befruchtung und die ersten 3 Teilungszyklen sind v.a. abhängig von der Eizelle. Der genetische Einfluss des Samens kommt erst ab dem 3. Tag nach der Befruchtung zum Tragen und führt zur Aktivierung des embryonalen Genoms (siehe Grafik unten). Das heißt, eine Blastozystenkultur mit einem Transfer am Tag 5 ist nach heutigem Stand der Wissenschaft geeignet, um das Einnistungspotential des Embryos beurteilen zu können.

Grafische Darstellung der Transkriptionsaktivität während der Embryonalentwicklung
│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

2. Vorteile einer Blastozystenkultur

Die Vorteile der Blastozystenkultur, mit einem Transfer am Tag 5 gegenüber einem Transfer am Tag 2/3, sind durch zahlreiche fundierte Publikationen belegt:

  • Bessere Synchronisierung zwischen Uterus (Gebärmutter) und der frühen Embryonalentwicklung.
  • Beschaffenheit und Qualität des Embryos ist erkennbar. Somit können jene Embryonen zum Transfer bereitgestellt werden, welche ein optimales Entwicklungspotential aufweisen.
  • verminderte Kontraktion des Uterus ab dem Tag 5. Damit wird verhindert, dass die in die Gebärmutter zurück gesetzten Embryonen vermehrt abgestoßen werden.
  • höhere Implantations-Chancen (Einnistung in der Gebärmutter)

Eine Kinderwunschbehandlung mit Blastozystenkultur bietet in Verbindung mit optimierten Stimulationsprotokollen und Embryo-Transfertechniken sehr gute Chancen auf das Erreichen einer intakten Schwangerschaft, die zur Geburt eines gesunden Kindes führt. Voraussetzung dafür ist ein top-ausgestattetes IVF-Zentrun mit erfahrenen Medizinern und Biologen.


Univ. Prof. Dr. Herbert Zech

Gründer
IVF Zentren Prof. Zech

1996 haben wir in unseren IVF-Zentren weltweit erstmals eine systematisch vorgenommene Blastozystenkultur eingeführt und setzten damit international Maßstäbe. Diese Behandlungsmethode zur Verbesserung der Schwangerschafts-Chancen wurde "State of the Art" in der Reproduktionsmedizin. Unser Team kann daher heute auf das Know-how aus über 20 Jahren erfolgreicher Kinderwunschbehandlungen mit Blastozystenkultur zurückgreifen.