NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Embryo Transfer

← zurück zur Startseite

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Embryo Transfer

Return of the "Egg"

In an ideal scenario, embryo transfer is carried out on the fifth day following fertilization which, after normal conception, corresponds to the time when an embryo has travelled via the fallopian tube to the womb in order to attach to the uterine wall.(See "Blastocyst Culture")

1. Procedure
2. "Single Embryo Transfer"
4. Concomitant hormone therapy


1. Procedure

A thin and flexible plastic tube (catheter) is inserted through the vagina and cervix (cervix uteri) into the womb (uterus). The embryo is pushed through the catheter and is gently deposited in the uterus. The procedure takes only a few minutes and is generally painless. After undergoing embryo transfer, the woman rests for some minutes in supine position and may then go home.


Schematic layout of embryo transfer during IVF treatment
│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

Implantation of the embryo

The implantation (nidation) of the embryo in the uterine wall is a highly complex process. There are no means to actively encourage or even force implantation to happen. From a medical point of view, this means that one can only try to improve a given situation through the use of scientifically proven methods. During embryo transfer, particular attention is paid to placing the embryo 0,5 - 1 cm below the highest point of the uterine cavity. This has proved to be the most suitable site for an embryo to implant. A precondition of this approach, however, is the exact measurement of the length of the uterine cavity, since the condition of the reproductive organs may vary considerably from one woman to another. In addition, it is important to stimulate the proper build up of the endometrium by means of individually tailored hormone treatment. However, the woman can at least try not to interfere with embryo implantation, which can be achieved by adopting a healthier lifestyle. A stressful departure after the embryo transfer and jerky movements (fast lifting of heavy loads) should be avoided. Moreover, we advise you against flying long-haul after the transfer. In addition, smoking or excessive alcohol consumption may have a negative impact on the outcome.

Article on our
:
Why an embryo does not "spill out"?
Pregnancy test

Two weeks after the embryo transfer, a pregnancy test can be taken which uses the detection of hCG in urine. Continue to take the prescribed medication in full compliance with your therapy plan. You should, under no circumstances, stop taking your medication without first consulting us. Regardless of whether the pregnancy test comes back positive or negative, the couple should, in any case, get in touch with our IVF center. Subsequently, we will discuss with you how to proceed, e.g. appointment for blood sample, further medication, next check-up appointment etc.


2. "Single Embryo Transfer"

In order to reduce the risks and complications (for both mother and child) of multiple pregnancy, we at the IVF Centers Prof. Zech clearly prefer, wherever possible, to perform a so-called Single Embryo Transfer (SET). Optimal conditions have to be created as early as in the run up to the treatment, in order to allow for the transfer of a single top-quality embryo with high implantation potential. This requires a good deal of experience, optimized stimulation protocols, individually tailored medication as well as the use of the latest laboratory technology.

Article on our
:
"Single Embryo Transfer" in IVF

3. Concomitant hormone therapy

Around the time of oocyte collection, an antibiotic is administered for some days in order to reduce as far as possible the risk of infection, mainly to prevent any bacteria that may be present from being "pushed up" into the uterine cavity during embryo transfer. Following follicular aspiration and subsequent embryo transfer, the luteal phase defect (corpus luteum insufficiency) which is a naturally occurring phenomenon in IVF treatment has to be corrected by the administration of progesterone up to when fetal heartbeat can be detected. Progesterone administration is then continued via the vaginal route until the 12th week of pregnancy. In some cases, however, it may be useful to take progesterone until even later in pregnancy. Any such prolonged use of the medication requires prior consultation with your treating obstetrician. Additionally, estrogen offered in tablet form (Progynova) must be taken for a certain period of time (even though elevated estrogen levels are usually very common following ovarian stimulation). This is the only way to maximize the therapeutic success. Thyroid hypofunction requires the intake of thyroid medicines in the form of tablets throughout the entire pregnancy (Eltroxin, L-Thyroxin, Euthyrox). Details should be discussed with the treating gynecologist. Additional medicines may be needed to minimize the risk and possible consequences of ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome (OHSS) (Clexane s.c., Parlodel). Other drugs might be prescribed on an individual basis (Cortisol, Thrombo ASS, Metformin). Each couple will receive detailed information on the drugs prescribed to them in the form of a leaflet and a customized treatment plan.

Advice and assistance for the time after the transfer

An emotionally charged time is now about to start. There are just so many different feelings and sensations - until you finally know if it worked out for you. Then there is the time of the pregnancy which is often accompanied by the fear of doing something wrong.
Please don't worry, we offer useful tips and assistance:

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Embryo-Transfer

← zurück zur Startseite

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Embryo-Transfer

Rückgabe der "Eizelle"

Die Rückgabe der befruchteten Eizelle erfolgt idealerweise am fünften Tag der Embryonalentwicklung (Blastozysten-Stadium), was jenem Zeitpunkt entspricht, an dem ein Embryo bei natürlicher Fortpflanzung vom Eileiter in die Gebärmutter gewandert ist und sich dann einnistet (siehe "Blastozystenkultur").

1. Ablauf
2. "Single Embryo-Transfer"
3. Hormonelle Begleitmedikation


1. Ablauf

Mit einem dünnen und biegsamen Kunststoffschlauch (Katheter) wird der Embryo durch die Scheide (Vagina) und den Muttermund (Cervix uteri) vorsichtig in die Gebärmutter (Uterus) eingebracht. Dieser Vorgang dauert nur wenige Minuten und verläuft im Allgemeinen schmerzlos. Nach dem Embryo-Transfer bleibt die Frau einige Minuten in Rückenlage liegen und kann anschließend nach Hause entlassen werden.


Schematische Darstellung des Embryo-Transfers bei einer Kinderwunschbehandlung
│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

Einnistung des Embryos

Die Einnistung des Embryos in der Gebärmutter (Implantation) ist ein sehr komplexer Vorgang, der nicht aktiv unterstützt oder gar erzwungen werden kann. Medizinisch gesehen heißt das, man kann lediglich versuchen, mit wissenschaftlich erprobten Methoden, die Gegebenheiten zu verbessern. So wird bei der Rückgabe des Embryos darauf geachtet, dass der Embryo 0,5 - 1 cm unterhalb des höchsten Punktes der Gebärmutterhöhle eingesetzt wird. Es ist erwiesen, dass sich ein Embryo an dieser Stelle einnisten sollte. Diese Kenntnis setzt eine exakte Messung der Gebärmutterlänge voraus, denn die Beschaffenheit der Geschlechtsorgane kann von Frau zu Frau recht unterschiedlich sein. Zudem ist es wichtig, mittels individuell abgestimmten Stimulationsplans, den richtigen Aufbau der Gebärmutterschleimhaut hormonell bestmöglich zu unterstützen. Auch eine entsprechende Lebensweise der Frau kann dabei helfen, die Einnistung des Embryos zumindest nicht zu stören. Eine stressige Abreise nach dem Embryo-Transfer oder ruckartige Bewegungen (schnelles und schweres Heben von Lasten) sollten vermieden werden. Aber auch Langstreckenflüge sind nicht empfehlenswert. Außerdem hat Rauchen oder ein übermäßiger Konsum von Alkohol negative Auswirkungen.

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Warum ein Embryo nicht "herausfällt"
Schwangerschaftstest

Der Schwangerschaftstest im Urin kann zwei Wochen nach dem Embryo-Transfer gemacht werden. Die verordneten Medikamente laut Therapieplan weiternehmen. Auf keinen Fall eigenmächtig absetzen. Sowohl bei einem positiven als auch negativen Schwangerschaftstest sollte uns das Paar im IVF-Zentrum kontaktieren. In Folge wird das weitere Vorgehen besprochen, z.B. Termin zur Blutabnahme, weitere Medikamenteneinnahme, der nächste Kontrolltermin etc.


2. "Single Embryo-Transfer"

Um die Risiken und Folgen (für Mutter und Kind) einer möglichen Mehrlingsschwangerschaft zu minimieren, richten wir in unseren IVF-Zentren die Behandlung danach aus, möglichst einen sogenannten "Single Embryo-Transfer" durchzuführen. Das bedeutet, im Vorfeld optimale Bedingungen zu schaffen, damit nur ein Embryo mit höchstem Einnistungspotential transferiert wird. Dazu gehören viel Erfahrung, optimierte Stimulationsprotokolle, eine individuell abgestimmte Medikation sowie der Einsatz modernster Labortechniken.

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Kinderwunschbehandlung mit "Single Embryo-Transfer"

3. Hormonelle Begleitmedikation

Um den Zeitraum der Follikel-Punktion wird für einige Tage ein Antibiotikum gegeben, damit das Infektionsrisiko so gering wie möglich gehalten wird, vor allem aber auch deswegen, um beim Transfer nicht evt. vorhandene Keime in die Gebärmutterhöhle "hinaufzuschieben". Nach der Follikel–Punktion und dem anschließendem Embryo-Transfer muss die bei einer künstlichen Befruchtung natürlich auftretende Gelbkörperschwäche (Corpus Luteum Insuffizienz), durch Progesteron-Gaben korrigiert werden und zwar bis zum Nachweis einer positiven Herzaktion. Anschließend wird Progesteron intravaginal bis zur 12ten Schwangerschaftswoche weiter verabreicht. In manchen Fällen ist es sinnvoll, die Medikation noch länger in die Schwangerschaft fortzuführen. Diese Medikation sollte individuell mit dem behandelnden Geburtshelfer abgestimmt werden. Zusätzlich dazu muss Östrogen in Tablettenform (Progynova) ebenfalls für eine gewisse Zeitdauer eingenommen werden (auch wenn erhöhte Östrogenwerte nach einer Stimulation natürlicherweise vorhanden sind). Nur so kann eine Maximierung des Erfolgs erreicht werden. Bei Schilddrüsen–Unterfunktion sollten die gesamte Schwangerschaft hindurch Schilddrüsen–Medikamente in Tablettenform (Eltroxin, L-Thyroxin, Euthyrox) eingenommen werden (Details mit dem/der behandelnden GynäkologIn besprechen). Eventuell sind zusätzliche Medikamente erforderlich, um das Risiko und die Folgen einer Überstimulation (OHSS) zu minimieren (Clexane s.c., Parlodel). Individuell könnten auch andere Medikamente verschrieben werden (Cortisol, Thrombo ASS, Metformin). Eine genaue Beschreibung der verordneten Medikamente erhält jedes Paar in Form eines Merkblattes und eines individuell abgestimmten Therapieplanes.

Tipps und Hilfe nach dem Transfer

Nun beginnt eine äußerst emotionale Zeit, mit vielen unterschiedlichen Gefühlen – bis man endlich weiß, ob es geklappt hat und danach in der Schwangerschaft, wenn man Angst hat, etwas falsch zu machen.
Keine Sorge, es gibt nützliche Tipps und Hilfestellungen: