NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Sperm Collection

There are basically 3 ways of obtaining sperm:

1. Ejaculation
2. TESE/TESA
3. Sperm donation


1. Ejaculation

The most common way of collecting spermatozoa is by masturbation and the production of a semen sample via ejaculation. This is normally done on the same day as the oocyte pick-up (see "Oocyte Collection"). Performing on "demand" and under time pressure and stress doesn't make it easy for the male partner to produce a semen specimen. In such cases the sample can be brought from home (the sample must be handed over to the staff of the IVF center within 2 hours of collection). On the way to our center, please make sure you keep the sample close to your body. The ejaculate (semen) must be obtained under hygienic conditions. Therefore, you should wash your hands and penis thoroughly with soap and then rinse them with a lot of water. The semen specimen should only be collected in the labelled container that we have provided you with. These special sample containers have been tested and found to be non-toxic to sperm. Under no circumstance should you use condoms. The sperm samples must first be specially treated prior to using them for IVF/ICSI/IMSI. In the process, healthy and viable sperm cells are separated from the other constituents of the ejaculate (semen). This takes about 1-3 hours. Semen processing is intended, among other things, to achieve the following:

  • isolation of the best sperm
  • increase in the concentration of sperm
  • activation of spermatozoa
  • removal of bacteria and other unwanted matter from the semen (e.g. prostaglandins)

2. TESE/TESA

Dr. Pierre Vanderzwalmen (has been a member of the team of the IVF Centers Prof. Zech since 1994) has achieved the world's first pregnancy and birth of a healthy baby through the use of surgically extracted testicular sperm for IVF. TESE stands for "Testicular Sperm Extraction", TESA means "Testicular Sperm Aspiration". Both are surgical techniques for retrieving spermatozoa directly from the testis. TESE may be used in men with very low sperm concentration in the ejaculate (oligozoospermia ) or in men whose semen contain no sperm (non-obstructive azoospermia). TESA (less invasive procedure involving percutaneous aspiration) is the method of choice whenever the vas deferens are blocked (obstructive azoospermia). Both methods (TESE and TESA) are then combined with the microinjection (ICSI/IMSI) of a single sperm into the egg cell's cytoplasm.

Article on our
:
Towards happiness of fatherhood

3. Sperm donation

This option exists within the framework of medically assisted reproduction and refers to the possibility of producing a pregnancy in a woman (recipient) by using donor sperm. This may be of particular help in the following situations:

  • if the partner does not produce any spermatozoa and surgical sperm retrieval techniques have failed to provide the desired outcome (in some cases, due to unknown reasons, testicular function can be impaired to such an extent that, even after the surgical removal of testicular tissue, it is impossible to find any spermatozoa as a result of absent sperm production)
  • after surgical removal of both testicles
  • following chemotherapy or radiotherapy in patients diagnosed with malignant diseases
  • lesbian couples who want to conceive a child
  • single women who want to conceive a child

All details on medical indication, legal framework, individual treatment steps and potential risks will be discussed during a personal conversation with the attending doctor at the IVF center.

Sperm donation in Austria

Depending on the initial situation, the reproductive health specialist may recommend "artificial insemination" using donated sperm. Austrian law also permits the microinjection of donor sperm into the eggs' cytoplasm by means of the ICSI procedure. Lesbian couples wishing to conceive may also benefit from this opportunity.


CONTACT

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Samengewinnung

Samengewinnung

Es gibt grundsätzlich 3 Arten, wie Samenzellen gewonnen werden können:

1. Ejakulation
2. TESE/TESA
3. Samenspende


1. Ejakulation

Die Gewinnung von Samenzellen erfolgt durch Masturbation und Ejakulation von Sperma üblicherweise am Tag der Follikel-Punktion (siehe "Eizell-Entnahme"). Dies ist "auf Befehl" oder unter Zeitdruck und Stress nicht immer leicht möglich. In solchen Fällen kann die Samenprobe von zu Hause mitgebracht werden (Zeitraum zwischen Ejakulation und Abgabe der Samenprobe im IVF Zentrum sollte zwei Stunden nicht überschreiten). Für den Transport tragen Sie die Samenprobe am Körper. Das Ejakulat (Sperma) muss unter hygienischen Bedingungen gewonnen werden. Man sollte Hände und Penis sorgfältig waschen und von Seife befreien. Zum Auffangen der Samenprobe dürfen nur Gefäße verwenden, die von uns beschriftet bereitgestellt werden, da diese getestet und für Spermien ungiftig sind. Kondome sollten auf keinen Fall benutzt werden. Für die Verwendung bei IVF/ICSI/IMSI müssen die Samenzellen speziell aufbereitet werden. Hier werden prinzipiell lebendige und gesunde Samenzellen von übrigen Bestandteilen des Ejakulats (Sperma) getrennt. Dies nimmt in etwa 1-3 Stunden in Anspruch. Durch die Aufbereitung werden unter anderem:

  • die besten Spermien isoliert,
  • die Konzentration (Dichte) der Samenzellen oft erhöht
  • die Spermien aktiviert
  • Bakterien und andere unerwünschte Bestandteile des Ejakulats (z.B. Prostaglandine) entfernt.

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Stress pur: Samenabgabe auf Knopfdruck

2. TESE/TESA

Die weltweit erste Schwangerschaft mit Geburt eines gesunden Kindes durch Gewinnung von Samen direkt aus dem Hoden wurde 1993 durch Dr. Pierre Vanderzwalmen erzielt (seit 1994 im Team der IVF Zentren Prof. Zech). TESE steht für "Testikuläre Spermien Extraktion", TESA bedeutet "Testikuläre Spermien Aspiration". Beides sind operative Techniken zur Gewinnung von Samenzellen direkt aus dem Hoden. Die TESE kann Anwendung finden, wenn im Ejakulat äußerst wenige (OAT-Syndrom) oder gar keine Samenzellen (Azoospermie) nachweisbar sind, die TESA (weniger invasiv, da perkutan aspiriert wird, wenn z.B. ein Verschluß der Samenleitern vorliegt (obstruktive Azoospermie). Sowohl bei TESE als auch bei TESA werden die Samenzellen mit Hilfe der Mikroinjektion (ICSI/IMSI) in das Zytoplasma der Eizelle eingebracht.

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Ein Weg zum Vaterglück

3. Samenspende

Diese Option im Rahmen einer Kinderwunschbehandlung bedeutet, dass mit den Spermien eines anderen Mannes als Spender, der Empfängerin eine Schwangerschaft ermöglicht werden kann. Das kann z.B. in folgenden Situationen (je nach Gesetzeslage) in Frage kommen:

  • wenn der Partner keine Samenzellen produziert und auch eine operative Samengewinnung (TESE/TESA) ohne Erfolg bleibt (fallweise kann aus nicht bekannten Ursachen die Hodenfunktion derart gestört sein, dass auch nach operativer Entnahme eines Gewebsstückes aus dem Hoden das Auffinden von Spermien nicht möglich ist, da keine mehr gebildet werden)
  • nach operativer Entfernung beider Hoden
  • nach einer Chemo- oder Bestrahlungstherapie infolge bösartiger Erkrankungen
  • wenn sich ein lesbisches Paar den Kinderwunsch erfüllen möchte
  • wenn sich eine alleinstehende Frau (Single) sehnlichst ein Kind wünscht

Alle Details zur medizinischen Indikation, den rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen sowie zum Ablauf und möglichen Risiken müssen im persönlichen Arztgespräch geklärt werden.

Samenspende in Österreich

Je nach Ausgangslage empfiehlt der Facharzt eine "Künstliche Befruchtung" mit gespendetem Samen. In Österreich darf dabei der Samen auch mittels ICSI-Methode in die Eizelle eingebracht werden. Zudem können lesbische Paare mit Kinderwunsch diese Möglichkeit in Anspruch nehmen.


KONTAKT