NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Erfolgsrate

Success Rate - Backgrounds
and Meaning

About one in five couples today are involuntarily childless, and the need for professional medical support is increasing. When looking for a suitable IVF center, the Internet provides numerous possibilities to gain detailed information beforehand on the varied choices offered by the IVF center in question, including the treatment procedure, the specialists responsible for the realization of the therapy etc. However, for many people concerned, it is even more important to know what the performance figures of a clinic look like (e.g. pregnancy rate, birth rate):

Pregnancy rate - IVF Centers Prof. Zech

Number of women who got pregnant after an IVF attempt (therapy cycle) (all age groups, transfer of top blastocysts):
Pregnancy rate following Beta-hCG testing, non-cumulative, transfers involving at least one top blastocyst (AA, BA or AB), analyzed time period: 1 January 2014 - 31 December 2016 (3 years) at the IVF Centers Prof. Zech – Bregenz │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS


Number of women who got pregnant after an IVF attempt (therapy cycle) (up to 37 years of age, all transfers)
Pregnancy rate following Beta-hCG testing (clinical pregnancy rate about 2% lower in each case), non-cumulative, all transfers, analyzed time period: 1 January 2014 - 31 December 2016 (3 years) at the IVF Centers Prof. Zech – Bregenz │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

In some countries, IVF clinics are required by law to publish their results. In countries where there is no such legal obligation, the provision of these data takes place on a voluntary basis. We are continually faced with cases, where partly pregnancy rates of over 90% are reported which are often even accompanied by a message stating that the pregnancy rate allows an informed assessment of the likelihood of successful fertility treatment. Hence, we at our IVF centers clearly dissociate ourselves from such promises. There is no such thing as the "one and only" success parameter.

Topic series on our
:
Success rate

"... and what does that mean for us?"

In light of past experience, this is a question in which many couples are interested when looking at the outcomes presented. In order to be able to give a useful answer to that question, it is important, firstly, to understand that the underlying reason for infertility mostly consists of a combination of factors, such as diseases, genetic disorders, age-related factors, unhealthy lifestyle habits, harmful environmental influences. The chances of a successful treatment outcome are based primarily on the personal situation of the patients. With regard to the treatment results published by an IVF center, it is to be noted that such results do not apply to all affected women/men equally (e.g. indication of age group and pregnancy rate) and should therefore be viewed on a differentiated basis. The following is a case example.

Pregnancy and birth

A pregnancy can be confirmed by biochemical tests (detection of the pregnancy hormone human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) in the blood) or by visual examination (using ultrasound technology, e.g. presence of fetal heartbeat). The "visual confirmation" of a pregnancy is referred to as clinical pregnancy (rate). This is, of course, what we desire, but unfortunately not all positive pregnancy tests will lead to a vital pregnancy resulting in the birth of a child (live birth rate). Therefore, the clinical pregnancy rate is always considered to be the more reliable parameter.

Depending on the course of pregnancy, the live birth rate may differ from the initially stated pregnancy rate.│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

Cumulative or non-cumulative

The term "cumulative" derives from the Latin word "cumulare" (to accumulate). The cumulative pregnancy rates are calculated by taking into account the number of pregnancies achieved in the context of medically assisted reproduction after several consecutive embryo transfers ("fresh" and "frozen" cycles) and indicates that the likelihood of becoming pregnant increases with the number of IVF attempts the patient has already undergone.

Although the chances of success per attempted treatment (therapy cycle) remain the same (e.g. 47%), the prospect of success calculated on a cumulative basis increases with each additional attempt. Depending on the method of calculation, there might be considerable differences between cumulative and non-cumulative results. │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

The cumulative pregnancy rate can be calculated in different ways, but it is difficult to be quantified and may give rise to false estimations. For example, there is no consensus on the number of attempts that shall be taken into account for the cumulative calculation. Each fertility treatment is to be seen as an "independent event", i.e. the outcome (whether positive or negative) of a previous therapy does not have any impact on a possible further treatment. It's like rolling the dice. The probability of rolling a six is 1:6. If after 5 tries a 6 has not been rolled, the sixth try offers exactly the same odds as the previous attempts, that is to say 1:6.

Topic series on our
:
Cumulative pregnancy rate

Using customized therapies to increase the probability of pregnancy

However, there is no guarantee that the fertility treatment will be successful. However, thanks to intensive research in the field of reproductive medicine and the development of new procedures, the prospects of success are notably higher today than just a decade ago. As a fundamental rule, evaluating the chances of fertility treatment success always requires a customized approach, i.e. taking into account the couple's medical and personal circumstances. This is even more important in view of the fact that the chances of becoming pregnant might be influenced by a variety of factors. The following list shows a choice of aspects that are decisive for us when it comes to a realistic assessment of each individual couple's chances of getting pregnant:

  • Age of the woman
  • Type and length of the infertility
  • Possible pre-existing conditions
  • Genetic constitution of the couples (balanced translocations, genetic diseases etc.)
  • Ovarian reserve
  • Quality of the gametes (oocytes and sperm)
  • Quality of the transferred blastocyst(s)
  • IVF treatment using own oocytes/sperm or donated oocytes/sperm
  • Selection of the stimulation protocol
  • Case history (anamnesis)
  • Risk factors
  • Response to previous stimulations
  • BMI (Body Mass Index)
  • Antral Follicle Count (AFC)
  • Hormonal status
  • AMH levels etc.

Against this background, our medical approach is based on therapies that are tailored to the individual needs of the patients, including detailed analyses and mechanisms of selection carried out by a team of specialized physicians, biologists, and geneticists (Learn more).

Zur Erfüllung des Kinderwunsches ist für uns folgendes entscheidend:
Der Fokus auf die individuelle medizinische Situation des Paares in Verbindung mit unseren Möglichkeiten und fachlichen Leistungen.

KONTAKT

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Erfolgsrate

Erfolgsrate - Hintergründe
und Bedeutung

Etwa jedes fünfte Paar ist ungewollt kinderlos. Der Bedarf an professioneller medizinischer Unterstützung nimmt zu. Bei der Wahl des IVF-Zentrums bietet das Internet viele Möglichkeiten, um sich im Vorfeld darüber zu informieren, was das IVF-Zentrum anbietet, wie der Ablauf ist, wer die Therapie durchführt etc. Entscheidender ist jedoch für viele zu wissen, wie die jeweiligen Erfolgszahlen (z.B. Schwangerschaftsrate, Geburtenrate) aussehen:

Schwangerschaftsrate IVF Zentren Prof. Zech

Anzahl der Frauen, die nach einem Versuch (Therapiezyklus) schwanger wurden (alle Altersgruppen, Transfer Top-Blastozysten):
Schwangerschaftsrate nach HCGTest, nicht kumulativ, Transfers mit mindestens einer Top-Blastozyste (AA, BA oder AB), analysierter Zeitraum 01.01.2014 - 31.12.2016 (3 Jahre) in den IVF Zentren Prof. Zech – Bregenz │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS


Anzahl der Frauen, die nach einem Versuch (Therapiezyklus) schwanger wurden (Alter bis 37 Jahre, alle Transfers)
Schwangerschaftsrate nach HCG-Test (klinische Schwangerschaftsrate jeweils ca. 2% niedriger), nicht kumulativ, alle Transfers, analysierter Zeitraum 01.01.2014 - 31.12.2016 (3 Jahre) in den IVF Zentren Prof. Zech – Bregenz │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

In manchen Ländern sind Kinderwunsch-Zentren per Gesetz dazu verpflichtet, die Ergebnisse zu veröffentlichen. Wo dies nicht vorgeschrieben ist, erfolgt die Angabe auf freiwilliger Basis. So gibt es immer wieder Fälle, in denen teilweise von Schwangerschaftsraten von über 90% die Rede ist, häufig verbunden mit der Botschaft, dass die Schwangerschaftsrate eine genaue Aussage über die Erfolgsaussichten bei einer Kinderwunschbehandlung darstellt. In unseren IVF-Zentren distanzieren wir uns von solchen Versprechungen. Den einen Erfolgsparameter gibt es nämlich nicht.

Themen-Serie auf unserem
:
Erfolgsrate

"... und was heißt das jetzt für uns?"

Diese Frage beschäftigt erfahrungsgemäß viele Paare, wenn sie die dargestellten Ergebnisse betrachten. Um eine Antwort darauf geben zu können, ist zunächst wichtig zu verstehen, dass der Grund für den unerfüllten Kinderwunsch meist eine Kombination aus verschiedenen Faktoren ist, wie z.B. Krankheiten, genetische Störungen, zunehmendes Alter, ungesunder Lebenswandel, schädliche Umwelteinflüsse. Die Erfolgschancen einer entsprechenden Kinderwunschbehandlung orientieren sich in erster Linie an der persönlichen Situation des Paares. Das bedeutet im Hinblick auf die veröffentlichten Therapie-Ergebnisse eines IVF-Zentrums, dass diese nicht auf jede/jeden Frau/Mann gleichermaßen zutreffen (z.B. Angabe Altersgruppe u. Schwangerschaftsrate) und daher differenziert betrachtet werden sollten. Dazu nachfolgend ein Fallbeispiel.

Schwangerschaft oder Geburt

Eine Schwangerschaft kann biochemisch bestimmt sein (über den Nachweis des Schwangerschaftshormons hCG = humanes Choriongonadotropin im Blut), oder visuell bestätigt werden (mittels Ultraschall, z.B. durch Nachweis des fötalen Herzschlags). Ist die Schwangerschaft visuell bestätigt, dann spricht man von einer klinischen Schwangerschaft(srate). Dies ist natürlich wünschenswert, jedoch bedeutet nicht jeder positive Schwangerschaftstest auch eine vitale Schwangerschaft die zur Geburt des Kindes führt (Lebendgeburtenrate). Die klinische Schwangerschaftsrate ist somit immer der zuverlässigere Parameter.

Je nach Verlauf der Schwangerschaft kann die Lebendgeburtrate von der ursprünglichen Schwangerschaftsrate abweichen.│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

Kumulativ oder nicht kumulativ

Kumulativ leitet sich von dem lateinischen Wort "cumulare" (sich anhäufen) ab. Die kumulative Schwangerschaftsrate berücksichtigt die erzielten Schwangerschaften bei Kinderwunschbehandlungen nach mehreren, aufeinanderfolgenden Embryo-Transfers ("Frisch"- und Kryozyklen) und besagt, dass mit der Anzahl der absolvierten Therapien die Wahrscheinlichkeit schwanger zu werden zunimmt.

Obwohl die Erfolgschance pro Behandlungsversuch (Therapiezyklus) gleich bleibt (z.B. 47%), steigt die kumulativ berechnete Erfolgschance mit jedem zusätzlichen Versuch weiter an. Je nach Berechnungsmethode gibt es teils erhebliche Unterschiede zwischen kumulativen und nicht kumulativen Ergebnissen.│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

Die kumulative Schwangerschaftsrate kann auf unterschiedliche Art berechnet werden, ist schwer zu erfassen und verleitet auch zu Fehleinschätzungen. Es gibt z.B. keine übereinstimmende Meinung darüber, wie viele Versuche in eine kumulative Berechnung miteinbezogen werden sollen. Jede Kinderwunschbehandlung ist als "unabhängiges Ereignis" zu sehen. Es ist wie beim Würfeln. Die Chance eine 6 zu würfeln beträgt 1:6. Ist nach 5 Versuchen keine 6 gefallen, ist die Chance auf eine 6 im 6. Versuch aber immer noch 1:6 und nicht mehr.

Themen-Serie auf unserem
:
Kumulative Schwangerschaftsrate

Individuell abgestimmt Therapie erhöht Schwangerschafts-Chancen

Es gibt keine Garantie für den Erfolg einer Kinderwunschbehandlung. Aufgrund der intensiven Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Reproduktionsmedizin und der Entwicklung neuer Verfahren sind die Erfolgsaussichten heute aber deutlich höher als noch vor zehn Jahren. Grundsätzlich ist die Beurteilung der Chancen auf eine Schwangerschaft mittels Kinderwunschbehandlung immer in Bezug auf die persönliche medizinische Situation des Paares zu sehen. Besonders aufgrund der Tatsache, dass die Chancen, schwanger zu werden, von vielen Faktoren beeinflusst werden kann. Folgende Punkte stellen eine Auswahl an entscheidenden Aspekten dar, die wir in unseren IVF-Zentren zur Beurteilung einer realistischen Schwangerschafts-Chance pro Fall individuell in Betracht ziehen:

  • Alter der Frau
  • Art und Dauer der Unfruchtbarkeit
  • Mögliche Vorerkrankungen
  • Genetische Konstitution der Paare (balancierte Translokationen, genetische Erkrankungen etc.)
  • ovarielle Reserve
  • Qualität der Gameten (Eizellen u. Spermien)
  • Qualität der transferierten Blastozyste(n)
  • Kinderwunschbehandlung mit eigenen Eizellen/Spermien oder mit Spendereizellen/Spermien
  • Auswahl des Stimulationsprotokolls
  • Krankengeschichte (Anamnese)
  • Risikofaktoren
  • Reaktion auf vorangegangene Stimulationen
  • BMI (Body-Mass-Index)
  • Antraler Follikel-Count (AFC)
  • Hormonstatus
  • AMH-Wert etc.

Vor diesem Hintergrund basiert unser medizinisches Vorgehen auf individuell abgestimmten Therapieformen mit Detailanalysen und Auswahlmechanismen, durchgeführt von einem erfahrenen Team aus spezialisierten Ärzten, Biologen und Genetikern (mehr Infos).

Zur Erfüllung des Kinderwunsches ist für uns folgendes entscheidend:
Der Fokus auf die individuelle medizinische Situation des Paares in Verbindung mit unseren Möglichkeiten und fachlichen Leistungen.

KONTAKT