NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Ovarian Stimulation

During the normal menstrual cycle the woman's ovaries tyically produce a single dominant follicle resulting in a single mature egg cell each month (follicle growth / ovary). In each cycle there is a cohort of about 10 follicles competing against one another for dominance. Only one of them is able to develop into the dominant follicle containing the mature egg. This is precisely where hormonal stimulation comes into play: The woman receives appropriate hormonal treatment (e.g. gonadotropins = pituitary hormones) in order to induce the growth and maturation of multiple egg-containing follicles which would otherwise not have reached maturity. In this context, it is reassuring to know that ovarian stimulation is not associated, as is often incorrectly assumed, with premature menopause in women.

Schematic diagram of follicle growth in the female ovary


1. Hormonal treatment
2. Stimulation protocol
3. Intake of medication
4. Ultrasound monitoring
5. Video tutorials


1. Hormonal treatment

Ovarian stimulation requires a suitable preparation. On the one hand, it is necessary to determine the serum levels of specific hormones. On the other hand, it is essential to perform an ultrasound scan to assess the "Antral Follicle Count - AFC" (= number of smaller follicles visible by ultrasonography). In addition, the womb is examined by ultrasound to determine the exact position of the ovaries and to identify the possible presence of myomas and/or polyps. Based on the hormone status, the "Antral Follicle Count" and the ultrasound examination of the uterus, it is possible to make a forecast of the woman's anticipated response to ovarian stimulation.

Schematic diagram of hormonal treatment: period of time, ovarian cycle, active hormones, build up of uterine lining │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS


Controlled ovarian stimulation to induce the growth of multiple follicles (containing the ova) inside the ovaries requires the administration of several drugs or hormones for a certain time. Different stimulation protocols are used depending on the type of treatment, such as, for instance intra-uterine insemination (i.e. the transfer of sperm, also called spermatozoa into the uterine cavity) or the retrieval of oocytes by follicular aspiration (involving the subsequent insemination of the obtained oocytes with sperm in a test tube). In order to stimulate the growth of multiple ovarian follicles, we typically use hormones that are found in the female body (gonadotropins). In the majority of cases, these hormones are administered by injection either into a muscle (i.e. intramuscular) or under the skin (i.e. subcutaneous) (→ see "3. Intake of medication").

2. Stimulation protocol

Before and during the treatment, the couple is often confronted with a multitude of impressions and information. This may be confusing and can at times even provoke fear of doing something wrong. This holds especially true for couples having embarked on ovarian stimulation. After receiving appropriate patient education and relevant instructions at the IVF center, they are expected to carry out the injections themselves at home. Extremely poor response to stimulation could mean having to discontinue the treatment. The presence of ova is required to allow the union of egg and sperm (provided by the male partner). Thus, such hormonal treatments require a high level of patient compliance, which however can be achieved thanks to a customized stimulation protocol. The protocol provides the couple with detailed instructions as to how and when they should administer the prescribed medicines. In addition, video tutorials covering the proper preparation and injection of medications can be very helpful (→ see "5. Video Tutorials").

Article on our
:
"A lot helps a lot?"

3. Intake of medications

Targeted hormonal tratment is aimed at stimulating a woman's ovaries. To this end, different medications are used wherein these hormones are contained. Depending on the individual drug, the route of injection may vary: into the muscle (intramuscular injection) and/or under the skin (subcutaneous injection).

Article on our
:
Fear of injections?

Intramuscular Injection (IM)

Intramuscular injection delivers a fluid medication deep into a skeletal muscle by means of a syringe and a cannula. The following medications should be administered by intramuscular injection: gonadotropins (e.g. Merional, Menogon, Menopur), human chorionic gonadotropin (e.g. Pregnyl (A, CH) = Predalon (D), Brevactid, Gonasi), progesterone (e.g. Agolutin, Gestone, Prontogest, Progesteron Streuli)

Injection needles:
To dissolve the medication, please use the blunt needles 18G / 1,2 x 40mm. For intramuscular injection, please use the green needles 21G / 0,8 x 40mm.

Performing the intramuscular injection:

  • Locating injection site
  • Preparing injection solutions (in the case of dry substances (powder) e.g. Merional, Fostimon, Menogon, Menopur, Pregnyl etc): The medicine is contained in the powder, the liquid serves as the solvent. Inject the liquid into the powder. The powder dissolves instantly and can be drawn up into the syringe. When preparing the solution, please make sure to use the same number of vials (ampoules) filled with liquid and vials containing powder, e.g. mix 3 x powder with 3 x liquid.
  • Disinfection of the puncture site
  • Required contact time of the disinfectant must be observed (about 30-60 seconds)
  • Replace the injection needle (use green needle for injection, assemble the needle tightly onto the syringe!)
  • Swiftly insert the needle at a 90-degree angle - The cannula (needle) should NOT be inserted completely. Inject slowly!

Subcutaneous injection (SC)

The term subcutaneous refers to the anatomic location of the injection site, i.e. injection into the layer of tissue just "under the skin". This subcutaneous tissue essentially consists of connective and fatty tissues located just beneath the skin. The following medications should be administered by subcutaneous injection: GNRH-Agonist and -Antagonist (e.g. Decapeptyl, Orgalutran, Cetrotide), gonadotropins (e.g. Puregon, Gonal F, Fostimon)

Injection needles:
To dissolve the medication, please use the blunt needles 18G / 1,2 x 40mm. For subcutaneous injection, please use the short needles 27G / 0,40 x 20mm. Puregon and Gonal-F come in a pen, including single-use disposable pen needles (e.g. 29G / 0,33 x 12mm or BD Micro-Fine Pen Needle)

Performing the subcutaneous injection:

  • Locating injection site: You can inject in your abdomen under the level of the belly button or into the front of the thigh. Pinch the skin at the desired puncture site to make sure that the injection is given into the subcutaneous tissue and not the muscle tissue. Insert the needle at a 45-90 degree angle to the skin surface.
  • Preparing the injection solution: for dry substances (powder) see section 1.2 Intramuscular Injection. Some injectable medications are available as ready-to-use injection solutions in a pre-filled drug delivery system. There are specific PENs for the self-administration of Puregon or Gonal-F: see instructions for use (package leaflet)
  • Disinfection of the puncture site
  • Required contact time of the disinfectant must be observed (about 30-60 seconds)
  • Replace the injection needle (use grey needle for injection, assemble the needle tightly onto the syringe!) / for Puregon and Gonal F Pens 29G / 0,33 x 12mm or BD Micro-Fine Pen Needle
  • Swiftly insert the needle at a 45-degree angle, gently press down on the plunger of the syringe to inject the medication at a slow but steady rate.

4. Ultrasound monitoring

We are using cutting-edge 3D ultrasound systems for monitoring follicular growth (follicle monitoring). This is a precise, automated system for measuring the size and volume of developing follicles, whilst at the same time enabling us to make more accurate predictions as to their degree of maturity than would be possible using conventional ultrasound techniques. Scientific evidence suggests that those oocytes retrieved during follicular aspiration following follicle monitoring by 3D ultrasound show a higher fertilization potential. The ultrasound examinations are performed at regular intervals throughout the entire stimulation phase. The aim is to determine the optimum time for the administration of the hCG trigger-shot and the subsequent egg retrieval procedure.

How to administer medicines correctly

Videos and explanatory notes on how to prepare and inject the medications used for ovarian stimulation:

5. Video Tutorials

Ovarian Stimulation | Preparation Merional® | Patient Guide

Ovarian Stimulation | Preparation Pregnyl® | Patient Guide

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Stimulation

Follikel-Stimulation

Normalerweise reift im Zyklus der Frau monatlich jeweils eine Eizelle heran (Follikelwachstum / Eierstock). Im Durchschnitt konkurrieren dabei jedesmal 10 Follikel um die Dominanz. Nur ein Follikel wird zum Leitfollikel mit der reifen Eizelle. Genau hier setzt die hormonelle Stimulation an: Die Frau muss entsprechende Hormone einnehmen (z.B.: Gonadotropine = Hypophysenhormone), damit möglichst viele dieser sonst nicht zur Dominanz kommenden Follikel weiter wachsen, und darin Eizellen heranreifen können. Hier kann auch beruhigend angemerkt werden, dass eine Frau durch die hormonelle Stimulation der Follikel nicht, wie fälschlicherweise häufig angenommen, vorzeitig in die Wechseljahre kommt.

Schematische Darstellung des Follikelwachstums im Eierstock der Frau


1. Hormonbehandlung
2. Stimulationsplan
3. Einnahme der Medikamente
4. Ultraschall-Kontrolle
5. Video-Tutorials


1. Hormonbehandlung

Die Follikel-Stimulation bedarf einer entsprechenden Vorbereitung. Zum einen müssen spezielle Hormonwerte im Blut bestimmt werden. Zum anderen erfolgt mittels Ultraschalluntersuchung der sogenannte "Antrale Follikel Count" AFC (= Anzahl der im Ultraschall sichtbaren kleinen Follikel). Außerdem wird die Gebärmutter untersucht, um genaue Kenntnis über die Lage der Eierstöcke zu erlangen und ob z.B. Muskelknoten oder Polypen erkennbar sind. Auf Basis der Hormonwertbestimmung, des "Antralen Follikel Counts" und der Ultraschalluntersuchung der Gebärmutter wird die Stimulierbarkeit der Frau beurteilt.

Schematische Darstellung einer Hormonbehandlung: Zeitraum, Ovarialzyklus, aktive Hormone, Aufbau der Gebärmutterschleimhaut │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS


Damit gezielt Follikel (in denen sich die Eizellen befinden) im Eierstock heranreifen, sollten für eine bestimmte Zeit verschiedene Medikamente bzw. Hormone eingenommen werden. Je nachdem, ob eine Intra-Uterine Insemination (das bedeutet Transfer von Samen, auch Spermien genannt, in die Gebärmutterhöhle) oder aber auch eine Eizellentnahme durch Follikel-Punktion (mit anschließender Befruchtung der Eizellen mit den Samenzellen im Reagenzschälchen) geplant ist, werden unterschiedliche Follikel-Stimulationsprotokolle verwendet. Zur medikamentösen Stimulation der Eierstöcke werden meistens Hormone verwendet, die auch der Körper einsetzt (Gonadotropine). Diese Hormone werden zum größten Teil als Injektion entweder in den Muskel (d.h. intramuskuläre) oder unter die Haut (d.h. subkutan/subcutan) verabreicht (→ siehe "3. Einnahme der Medikamente").

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Hormone

2. Stimulationsplan

Vor und während der Behandlung ist das Kinderwunschpaar oftmals mit vielen Eindrücken und Informationen konfrontiert. Manchmal kann dies verwirrend sein, oder gar Ängste hervorrufen, eventuell etwas falsch zu machen. Besonders bei der Stimulation, welche das Paar, nach der entsprechenden Aufklärung und Unterweisung im IVF-Zentrum, zu Hause selbst durchführt. Denn die Behandlung kann nur dann fortgesetzt werden, wenn die Stimulation erfolgreich war, sprich wenn Eizellen vorhanden sind, die mit den Spermien des Partners befruchtet werden können. Daher muss die Hormontherapie sehr genau umgesetzt werden. Dies wird anhand eines individuell festgelegten Stimulationsplans gewährleistet. Hier weiß das Paar genau was, wann und wie verabreicht werden muss. Zudem können Video-Tutorials zur korrekten Vorbereitung und Injektion der Medikamente sehr hilfreich sein (→ siehe "5. Video-Tutorials").

Beitrag auf unserem
:
"Viel hilft viel?"

3. Einnahme der Medikamente

Die Eierstöcke der Frau werden mit der gezielten Gabe von Hormonen stimuliert. Hierfür gibt es verschiedene Medikamente, welche diese Hormone beinhalten. Jene Hormonpräparate, die mittels Spritze verabreicht werden müssen, sind je nach Medikament auf unterschiedliche Weise zu injizieren: in den Muskel (Intramuskuläre Injektion) und/oder unter die Haut (Subkutane Injektion).

Persönliche Erfahrung

"Als ich erfahren habe, dass ich mir selbst die Spritzen setzen muss, da war mir ein bisschen unwohl. Es wurde mir aber erklärt, dass die gewünschte Wirkung eigentlich nur über Spritzen zu erreichen ist. Sie haben mir gezeigt wie das geht und in paar Tagen ist es auch schon wieder vorbei."

Nicole Wesner

Profibox-Weltmeisterin

"Starke Frau, starker Weg"

2018 setzte die Profiboxerin Nicole Wesner ihr Vertrauen in uns und unsere jahrelange Erfahrung. Von Beginn an war für sie auch wichtig, ihre Geschichte erzählen zu können. So hat sich die 41-jährige getreu ihrem Motto „Wenn Du etwas tust, dann tue es mit Deinem ganzen Herzen“ für diesen Weg der Offenheit entschieden und möchte allen Frauen, die in ähnlichen Situationen sind, Mut machen.

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Angst vor der Spritze?
Intramuskuläre Injektion (i.m.)

Als intramuskuläre Injektion bezeichnet man das Einbringen eines flüssigen Arzneimittels in einen Skelettmuskel mittels Spritze und Kanüle. Medikamente, die Sie intramuskulär injizieren sollten sind folgende: Gonadotropine (z.B. Merional, Menogon, Menopur), Humanes Choriongonadotropin (z.B. Pregnyl (A, CH) = Predalon (D), Brevactid, Gonasi), Progesteron (z.B. Agolutin, Gestone, Prontogest, Progesteron Streuli)

Injektionsnadeln:
Zum Auflösen des Medikaments verwenden Sie die Nadeln 18G / 1,2 x 40mm. Zur intramuskulären Injektion verwenden Sie die grüne Nadel 21G / 0,8 x 40mm.

Durchführung der intramuskulären Injektion:

  • Bestimmung des Injektionsortes
  • Herstellen der Injektionslösung (bei Trockensubstanzen z.B. Merional, Fostimon, Menogon, Menopur, Pregnyl etc): Das Medikament befindet sich in der Trockensubstanz, die Flüssigkeit dient als Lösungsmittel. Spritzen Sie die Flüssigkeit in die Trockensubstanz, diese löst sich sofort auf und kann wieder in die Spritze aufgezogen werden. Verwenden Sie bitte jeweils die gleiche Anzahl Ampullen mit Flüssigkeit bzw. Trockensubstanz, z.B. 3 Trockensubstanzen mit 3 Flüssigkeiten auflösen.
  • Desinfektion der Punktionsstelle
  • Einwirkzeit des Desinfektionsmittels abwarten (ca. 30-60 Sekunden)
  • Injektionsnadel wechseln (zur Injektion grüne Nadel verwenden, Nadel und Kanüle fest zusammenstecken!)
  • zügig senkrecht Einstechen (90°) - Kanüle NICHT ganz einführen, langsam injizieren!

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Medikamentöse Unterstützung der Gelbkörperphase
Subkutane Injektion (s.c.)

Der Begriff subkutan steht für eine anatomische Ortsangabe, die sich auf das Gewebe "unter der Haut" bezieht. Diese Unterhaut besteht im Wesentlichen aus dem unmittelbar unter der Haut liegenden Binde- und Fettgewebe. Medikamente, die Sie subkutan injizieren sollten sind folgende: GNRH-Agonist und -Antagonist (z.B. Decapeptyl, Orgalutran, Cetrotide), Gonadotropine (z.B. Puregon, Gonal F, Fostimon)

Injektionsnadeln:
Zum Auflösen des Medikaments verwenden Sie die Nadeln 18G / 1,2 x 40mm. Zur subkutanen Injektion verwenden Sie die kurze Nadel 27G / 0,40 x 20mm. Bei Puregon und Gonal-F mittels Pen sind eigene Nadeln vorhanden (z.B. 29G / 0,33 x 12mm oder BD Micro-Fine Pen-Nadel)

Durchführung der subkutanen Injektion:

  • Bestimmung des Injektionsortes: Sie können entweder in die Bauchdecke unterhalb des Nabels oder am Oberschenkel injizieren. Um zu gewährleisten, dass die Injektion im Subkutangewebe und nicht im Muskelgewebe erfolgt, wird eine Hautfalte gebildet und in diese injiziert. Die Injektion kann in einem Winkel von 45°-90° erfolgen.
  • Herstellen der Injektionslösung: bei Trockensubstanzen siehe Punkt 1.2 bei der intramuskulären Injektion. Teilweise sind die Injektionen schon als fertige Injektionslösungen vorhanden. Für Puregon oder Gonal-F gibt es eigene Pen’s zur Verabreichung: siehe Gebrauchsinformation (Packungsbeilage)
  • Desinfektion der Punktionsstelle
  • Einwirkzeit des Desinfektionsmittels abwarten (ca. 30-60 Sekunden)
  • Injektionsnadel wechseln (zur Injektion graue Nadel verwenden, Nadel und Kanüle fest zusammenstecken!) / für Puregon und Gonal F Pens 29G / 0,33 x 12mm bzw. BD Micro-Fine Pen-Nadel
  • Zügig in 45° Winkel einstechen, Spritzenstempel zurückziehen und langsam injizieren.

4. Ultraschall-Kontrolle

Um das Follikelwachstum zu überprüfen (Follikel-Monitoring) verwenden wir modernste 3-D Ultraschallverfahren, zur präzisen und automatisierten Vermessung der Follikel. Damit lassen sich Volumen und Größe der heranreifenden Follikel und auch deren Reifegrad exakter analysieren als mit konventionellen Ultraschalltechniken. Es konnte wissenschaftlich belegt werden, dass jene Eizellen, die bei Follikelpunktionen nach 3D-Ultraschall-Überwachung gewonnen wurden, eine höhere Befruchtungsrate aufweisen. Diese Ultraschall-Kontrolle erfolgt in regelmäßigen Abständen über den gesamten Zeitraum der Stimulationsphase. Ziel ist es, den optimalen Zeitpunkt für die Gabe des Auslöse-Hormons HCG und die anschließende Follikel-Punktion zu ermitteln.

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Groß oder klein?

Medikamente richtig verabreichen

Videos zur Erklärung der korrekten Vorbereitung und Injektion der Medikamente für die Follikel-Stimulation:

5. Video-Tutorials

Follikel-Stimulation | Vorbereitung Merional® | Anleitung für Patienten

Follikel-Stimulation | Vorbereitung Pregnyl® | Anleitung für Patienten