NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

In Vitro Fertilization

← zurück zur Startseite

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

In Vitro Fertilization

"Artificial Insemination"

Couples who have been trying to conceive for a long time, but have so far failed to achieve a pregnancy often seek medical help and may opt for "artificial insemination", i.e. the use of medically assisted reproduction techniques to fertilize the egg with the male partner's sperm. For this purpose, there are different methods and techniques which are applied depending on the couple's initial situation.

1. Intra-Uterine Insemination
2. In Vitro Fertilization - IVF
3. ICSI
4. IMSI
5. Special Techniques


1. Intra-Uterine Insemination

Intra-uterine insemination can be offered to young women (up to age 36) as a first therapy option for 3 to 6 treatment cycles. What is indispensable here are open fallopian tubes in the woman and normal sperm count and quality (semen analysis) in the man. If those prerequisites are met, a polycystic ovary syndrome in the woman is often the root cause of the undesired childlessness. In this case, follicle-stimulating hormones/gonadotropins or clomiphene are used to induce the maturation of 1 to 2 ovarian follicles. Subsequently, ovulation is triggered by hCG and the processed sperm sample is placed inside the uterine cavity. The spermatozoa travel through the fallopian tubes to meet the egg cell. The fertilization of the ovum by a single sperm cell usually occurs in the ampulla part of the fallopian tube. Then the fertilized egg (zygote), i.e. the resulting embryo starts its 5-day migration along the fallopian tube to the womb. As a blastocyst it reaches the uterine cavity and starts implanting into the uterine lining (endometrium). To ensure that the uterine lining is well-prepared for (nidation/implantation), specific hormones (such as progesterone) have to be administered up to the moment when embryonic heartbeat can be detected via ultrasound about 4 weeks after ovulation. In some cases, progesterone supplementation is required up to the 12th week of pregnancy.

2. In Vitro Fertilization - IVF

Since 1978, there has also been the possibility of performing in vitro fertilization and subsequent embryo transfer, thus providing a therapeutic option to couples facing tubal factor infertility, various endocrine disorders, azoospermia or poor sperm quality. This approach may be used to realize these couples' dream of having a baby. "In Vitro Fertilization" or "extracorporeal fertilization" is generally understood as the fusion of egg and sperm outside the female body. For this purpose, an oocyte that has been removed from the ovary is combined with the man's spermatozoa in a petri dish (= in vitro). The fertilized oocyte is transferred into a special culture medium and placed in an incubator in order to grow into an embryo (see "Blastocyst Culture"). Cutting-edge laboratory techniques enable the close monitoring and detailed assessment of embryonic development. Once the embryo have reached a certain stage of development (blastocyst = embryo capable of initiating implantation), those with the highest implantation potential (maximum of 2 embryos) are selected an can then be placed into the woman's uterine cavity (see "Embryo Transfer"). This kind of treatment can be extremely challenging for the couple in question. For this reason, the therapy should be customized to take account of the couple's individual needs and should take place in a familiar and friendly atmosphere. The couple needs to be well informed on all aspects of the therapy options available to them. Having reviewed any existing medical results, and after a thorough gynecological examination, analysis of the semen and evaluation of existing diagnostic findings (and medical results yet to be established), an individual therapeutic plan is drawn up. In some cases, it may be useful to consider psychological counseling (see "Emotional Support") ahead of IVF treatment. After a first initial consultation, each couple is provided with a precise description of the individual examinations (follow-up ultrasound examinations, hormone analyses, blood sampling etc.) and details on the medication in the form of a leaflet and a therapy plan. Our treatments are always tailored to the patients' individual needs.


Schematic representation of the fertilization of an egg during IVF treatment: comparison between IVF and ICSI │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

3. ICSI

From 1992, the so-called "Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection" (ICSI procedure) has become a milestone in the treatment of infertility. The procedure involves injecting a single sperm directly into an oocyte to achieve successful fertilization. The ICSI procedure can be used to help couples in situations where the spermiogram results indicate limited male fertility, e.g. the ejaculated semen does not contain any motile spermatozoa. If, due to ejaculatory duct obstruction, no sperm can be found in the ejaculated semen specimen, sperm can be retrieved from the epididymis. The thus obtained sperm can then be used for ICSI. There is also the possibility of extracting spermatozoa directly from the testis (TESE/TESA).


Illustration of the microscopic analysis and the procedure for selecting suitable sperm to be used for in vitro fertilization (IVF) of ova: Comparison of ICSI vs. IMSI
│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

4. IMSI

In "natural" reproduction as well as in conventional IVF (in vitro fertilization) the zona pellucida and the cumulus cells surrounding the oocyte act as a biological barrier that prevents abnormal spermatozoa from attaching to the egg cell, so that in most cases only "normal" sperm are able to fertilize an egg. During the aforementioned ICSI procedure, morphological assessment and selection of the spermatozoa are performed (usually at a magnification of 200-400x) by specialized biologists. The quality of the assessment and subsequent selection can be further enhanced by using high-resolution microscopy for detailed analyses, i.e. "Intracytoplasmic Morphologically Selected Sperm Injection" (IMSI). (See "Sperm Selection").

5. Special Techniques

Spindle View

The spindle plays a pivotal role in the meiotic maturation of the human egg cell (oogenesis). It is responsible for the proper alignment and distribution of the chromosomes during cell division. In 15-20% of all cases, the mature eggs do not have a spindle prior to being fertilized by sperm. Besides the 1st polar body, the presence of a spindle is an accurate indicator of oocyte maturity. The older the women, the more frequently such spindle abnormalities are encountered. The absence of the spindle is associated with significantly reduced fertilization rates and poor or non-existent embryonic development. Spindle orientation during ICSI/IMSI has a decisive influence on further embryonic development. Usually the spindle is oriented in such a way that the 1st polar body is at the 12 o'clock position and the sperm cell is injected into the oocyte at the 3 o'clock position. If the spindle is not optimally positioned (in the majority of cases the spindle is close to the 1st polar body and thus located at a distance from the direction used for sperm injection) and is accidentally touched with the glass capillary during the microinjection procedure, this may lead to the destruction of the oocyte. In cases of repeated fertilization failure, great importance should be accorded to the spindle view (to be individually discussed and arranged with the attending physician).

Assisted Hatching

This method is aimed at facilitating the hatching of the developing embryo from the zona pellucida (outer shell of the embryo). The procedure involves making a small incision into the zona pellucida with the aid of a laser beam. This is particularly useful in cases where a pronounced thickening (detectable by so-called polarized light microscopy and standard light microscopy) of the zona is observed by the biologist or, where zona hardening is suspected. Especially with increasing female age, the egg coatings become thicker and harder. The same holds true for the zona of frozen-thawed embryos. Depending on the individual situation, the technique is used in our IVF laboratories only on a case-by-case basis.

PICSI

PICSI is a method of selecting mature sperm for use with ICSI/IMSI. The heads of mature sperm have a specific receptor that responds to hyaluronic acid (hyaluronan). Hyaluronan is naturally occurring as an essential component of the coating that surrounds the oocytes. Immature sperm do not have such a receptor. The so-called hyaluronic acid binding assay (PICSI) uses the fact that mature spermatozoa are able to bind to hyaluronan. Thus, mature spermatozoa can be separated from immature spermatozoa. These HA-bound sperm can be used for ICSI/IMSI. This technology is only used in very specific cases. PICSI cannot be a substitute for the IMSI technique, but in certain cases it can be regarded as an instrument to complement it.

Polarization Microscopy

The outer shell of the oocyte (zona pellucida) consists of 3 layers of glycoproteins surrounding the oocyte, or respectively, the embryo until it hatches from this shell. This happens on the 5th or 6th day of embryogenesis at the blastocyst stage of development. Using a polarization microscope, the zona can be evaluated with regard to the thickness of all three layers. These data allow for a better assessment of the properties of the zona of oocytes (or embryos). Especially the inner layer of the zona pellucida seems to be an important non-invasive marker for predicting oocyte development potential.

Initial medical consultation

Depending on the causes of the infertility in the woman/man, there are different therapy options available. During a personal medical consultation, it will be clarified which treatment is best suited to bring about the desired outcome.

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Künstliche Befruchtung

← zurück zur Startseite

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Künstliche Befruchtung

"Künstliche Befruchtung"

Paare, die meist schon länger versuchen schwanger zu werden, dies aber bislang einfach nicht klappen wollte, nehmen häufig ärztliche Hilfe in Anspruch und entscheiden sich ggf. für eine "Künstliche Befruchtung". Das heißt, eine medizinisch unterstützte Befruchtung der Eizelle mit dem Samen des Mannes. Hierfür gibt es verschiedene Methoden und Techniken. Diese werden je nach Ausgangslage des Paares angewendet.

1. Insemination
2. In Vitro Fertilisierung - IVF
3. ICSI
4. IMSI
5. Spezielle Techniken


1. Insemination

Die Intra-Uterine Insemination kann bei einer jungen Frau (bis zum 36. Lebensjahr) als erste Therapie-Option für 3 bis 6 Zyklen angeboten werden. Grundvoraussetzungen sind offene Eileiter bei der Frau und ein normaler Samenbefund (Spermiogramm) des Mannes. Unter diesen Voraussetzungen ist oft ein PCO-Syndrom der Frau die Ursache für den unerfüllten Kinderwunsch. In diesem Fall wird mit Hilfe von Follikel - stimulierenden Hormonen/Gonadotropinen oder auch mit Clomifen versucht, 1 bis 2 Follikel im Eierstock zur Reife zu bringen. Anschließend wird der Eisprung/Ovulation mittels hCG eingeleitet und der aufbereitete Samen in die Gebärmutterhöhle eingebracht. Die Spermien finden den Weg über die Eileiter zur Eizelle. Die Befruchtung der Eizelle mit einem einzigen Spermium findet normalerweise im obersten Teil des Eileiters statt. Anschließend beginnt die befruchtete Eizelle (Zygote) und der sich daraus entwickelnde Embryo eine 5-tägige Wanderung in die Gebärmutterhöhle. Im Blastozysten-Stadium erreicht diese anschließend die Gebärmutter und beginnt, sich in der Schleimhaut (Endometrium) einzunisten. Damit die Schleimhaut der Gebärmutter optimal für die Einnistung (Nidation/Implantation) vorbereitet ist, müssen gewisse Hormone (z.B. Progesteron) teilweise bis zum Zeitpunkt des Nachweises einer positiven Herzaktion 4 Wochen nach dem Eisprung oder bis zur 12ten Schwangerschaftswoche eingenommen werden.

2. In Vitro Fertilisierung - IVF

Seit 1978 besteht mit Hilfe der In vitro Fertilisierung mit anschließendem Embryotransfer eine therapeutische Möglichkeit, einem kinderlosen Paar auch bei verschlossenen Eileitern, diversen Hormonstörungen oder bei fehlendem Samen oder schlechter Samenqualität zu einem eigenen Kind zu verhelfen. Grundsätzlich versteht man unter "In Vitro Fertilisierung" oder "extrakorporaler Befruchtung" die Vereinigung von Eizelle und Samenzelle außerhalb des Mutterleibs. Dazu wird aus dem Eierstock die Eizelle entnommen und diese anschließend im Reagenzschälchen (= in vitro) mit dem Samen des Mannes zusammengebracht. Die befruchtete Eizelle wird in einen Inkubator ("Brutschrank") gegeben, wo sie in einem speziellen Kulturmedium zum Embryo heranwächst (siehe "Blastozystenkultur"). Die Embryonalentwicklung kann mittels modernster Labortechnik sehr genau beobachtet und beurteilt werden. Hat der Embryo ein bestimmtes Entwicklungsstadium (Blastozyste = einnistungsfähiger Embryo) erreicht, wird dieser in die Gebärmutter der Frau eingebracht (siehe "Embryo-Transfer").

Solch eine Behandlung ist für das Elternpaar eine große Herausforderung. Aus diesem Grund sollte die Behandlung möglichst persönlich und in einer vertrauten Atmosphäre durchgeführt werden. Das Paar muss über alle Aspekte der Therapiemöglichkeiten ausführlich informiert sein. Nach Durchsicht bereits vorhandener Befunde und einer gründlichen gynäkologischen Untersuchung, sowie der Kontrolle des Samens und der mitgebrachten Vorbefunde bzw. der noch zu erhebenden Befunde wird ein Therapieplan erstellt. In manchen Fällen erweist es sich als günstig, wenn eine psychologische Beratung (siehe "Emotionale Begleitung") angeboten wird und einer In vitro Fertilisierung vorangeht. Eine genaue Beschreibung der einzelnen Untersuchungen (Ultraschall-Kontrollen, Hormon-Bestimmungen, Blutabnahmen, usw.) und Einzelheiten über die Medikation erhält jedes Paar in Form eines Merkblattes und eines Therapieplanes nach einer Vorbesprechung. Die Behandlung erfolgt immer individuell und wird der jeweiligen Situation angepasst.


Schematische Darstellung der Eizell-Befruchtung bei einer Kinderwunschbehandlung: Gegenüberstellung von IVF und ICSI
│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

3. ICSI

Die sogenannte "Intracytoplasmische Spermieninjektion" (ICSI-Methode) hat sich 1992 als Meilenstein in der Reproduktionsmedizin etabliert. Mit Hilfe dieser Technik wird ein einzelnes Spermium direkt in die Eizelle injiziert, um damit eine Befruchtung zu erreichen. Damit kann Patienten-Paaren geholfen werden, bei denen die Ergebnisse des Spermiogramms auf eine eingeschränkte Fruchtbarkeit des Mannes hinweisen, z.B. wenn keine beweglichen Spermien im Ejakulat vorkommen. Oder in Situationen, wo durch Erkrankungen der ableitenden Samenwege keine Spermien im Samenerguss nachweisbar sind, kann aus dem Nebenhoden Samen entnommen und für die ICSI Methode verwendet werden. Es besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Spermien direkt aus dem Hoden zu gewinnen (TESE/TESA).


Abbildung der mikroskopischen Analyse und Auswahl der Spermien zur Befruchtung der Eizelle bei einer Kinderwunschbehandlung: Gegenüberstellung von ICSI und IMSI
│ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS

4. IMSI

Sowohl im natürlichen Zyklus, als auch bei der klassischen IVF (In vitro Fetilisierung) fungieren die Eizellhülle (Zona pellucida) und die vorhandenen Cumuluszellen als biologische Barriere, sodass in den meisten Fällen nur jene Spermien fähig sind eine Eizelle zu befruchten, welche auch die entsprechende Qualität aufweisen. Bei der vorher beschriebenen ICSI-Methode erfolgt die morphologische Beurteilung und Auswahl der Spermien (in der Regel bei 200-400x Vergrößerung) durch spezialiserte Biologinnen/Biologen. Die Qualität dieser Befundung und Auswahl kann durch Detailanalysen mittels hochauflösender Mikroskopiertechniken, wie die "Intrazytoplasmisch Morphologisch Selektierte Spermieninjektion" (IMSI), zusätzlich verbessert werden (siehe "Samenauswahl").

Beitrag auf unserem
:
"IMSI versus ICSI"

5. Spezielle Techniken

Spindel-Analyse

Die Spindel spielt eine zentrale Rolle in der meiotischen Reifung der menschlichen Eizelle (Oogenese). Sie ist für die sorgfältige Ausrichtung und Verteilung der Chromosomen während der Zellteilung verantwortlich. In 15-20% aller Fälle ist bei der reifen Eizelle vor der Befruchtung durch den Samen keine Spindel vorhanden. Das Vorhandensein einer Spindel ist, neben dem 1. Polkörper, ein genauer Indikator für die Eizellreife. Je älter die Frau, desto häufiger kommen solche Störungen der Spindel vor. Die Abwesenheit der Spindel ist mit einer deutlich reduzierten Befruchtungsrate und schlechter oder keiner Embryonalentwicklung in Relation zu setzen. Auch die Ausrichtung der Spindel während der ICSI/IMSI hat Einfluss auf die weitere Entwicklung der Embryonen. Normalerweise wird die Eizelle so orientiert, dass sich der 1. Polkörper bei 12h befindet und die Injektion der Samenzelle in die Eizelle bei 3h stattfindet. Wenn die Spindel nicht optimal ausgerichtet ist (meistens befindet sich die Spindel in der Nähe des 1. Polkörpers und somit auf Distanz von der Injektionsrichtung von Samen) und versehentlich durch die Injektion der Samenzelle mit der Glaskapillare getroffen wird, kann dies zu Störungen der Eizelle führen. Auch bei wiederholter Befruchtungs–Versagen kommt der Spindel–Analyse eine Bedeutung zu (individuell mit dem Arzt zu diskutieren).

Assisted Hatching - Schlüpfhilfe

Mit dieser Methode wird versucht, dem heranwachsenden Embryo das Schlüpfen (Hatching) aus der Eizellhülle (Zona pellucida) zu erleichtern. Die Eizellhülle wird mittels Laserstrahl "angeritzt". Dies ist vor allem dann sinnvoll, wenn die Eizellhülle zu dick (erkennbar mit der sog. Polarisationsmikroskopie und mit normalem Licht-Mikroskop) oder zu rigide erscheint. Vor allem mit zunehmendem Alter der Frau, werden die Eizellhüllen dicker und rigider, ebenso nach dem Tiefgefrieren und Wiederauftauen von Embryonen. Diese Technik wird je nach Befund in unseren IVF-Labors sehr individuell eingesetzt.

PICSI

PICSI ist eine Methode zur Auswahl reifer Spermien im Rahmen der ICSI/IMSI. Die Köpfe reifer Spermien tragen einen spezifischen Rezeptor für Hyaluronsäure (Hyaluronan). Hyaluronan ist eine wesentliche Komponente der Hülle, welche die Eizelle umgibt. Unreife Spermien verfügen nicht über diesen Rezeptor. Durch den sogenannten Hyaluronan-Bindungstest (PICSI) wird Hyluronan genutzt, um unreife von reifen Spermien zu trennen. Diese gebundenen Spermien können für die ICSI/IMSI verwendet werden. Diese Technologie kommt nur in ganz bestimmten Fällen zum Einsatz. PICSI kann die IMSI-Technik nicht ersetzten, lediglich in gewissen Fällen ergänzen.

Polarisationsmikroskopie

Die Eizellhülle (Zona pellucida) besteht aus 3 Schichten von Glykoproteinen und umhüllt die Eizelle bzw. den Embryo so lange, bis dieser aus der Hülle schlüpft. Dies geschieht am Tag 5-6 der Embryogenese im Blastozystenstadium. Mittels Polarisationsmikroskopie kann die Eizellhülle bezüglich Dicke aller drei Schichten beurteilt werden. Diese Daten erlauben eine bessere Bestimmung der Qualität der Hülle von Eizellen (oder Embryonen). Vor allem die innere Schicht der Eizellhülle scheint ein wichtiger nicht-invasiver Marker für das Entwicklungspotential einer Eizelle zu sein.

Medizinisches Erstgespräch

Den Ursachen für die Unfruchtbarkeit bei der Frau/beim Mann entsprechend gibt es unterschiedliche Therapie-Möglichkeiten. Welche Behandlung schlussendlich zielführend ist, wird im persönlichen Arztgespräch geklärt.