NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Sperm Selection

← zurück zur Startseite

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Sperm Selection

Sperm Selection

Egg and sperm factors are equally important for the development of the embryo. This is why, in medically assisted procreation, special attention is paid to oocyte and sperm quality. When taking a closer look at the sperm factor, it becomes quite clear that assessing sperm morphology and selecting the best sperm for in vitro fertilization represent decisive steps in the process of realizing a couple's dream of having a child.

Article on our
:
Sperm qality

IMSI

The assessment of sperm quality can be further improved using advanced microscopy techniques such as, for example, "Intracytoplasmic Morphologically Selected Sperm Injection" (IMSI). Using a special microscope for high-resolution imaging, the spermatozoa are analyzed three-dimensionally in real time, i.e. "live" at a magnification of 6.000x - 12.000x. Of course, this allows for a more detailed analysis of the single sperm cells, enabling the selection of the best sperm for in vitro fertilization. Particular emphasis is placed here on sperm morphology (size, shape and structure).

mikroskop1
IMSI is based on the real-time analysis of spermatozoa under a microscope with high-resolution. The IMSI procedure is suitable, among other things, for identifying any vacuoles. Vacuoles are crater-like dents in the sperm head. │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS
"IMSI versus ICSI"

The causes for involuntary childlessness may vary greatly from one couple to another, thus requiring a highly individual approach. Therefore, the male factor is of increasing interest to the scientific community. Today, we know that sperm/semen are worth being looked at in more detail so that any dysfunctions can be detected. Oocyte fertilization, embryonic development and, possibly also the child's health may be affected by such disturbances.
When comparing fertility treatment paired with ICSI (Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection) to treatment with IMSI, it emerges that the detailed analysis and selection of spermatozoa appear to reduce the risk of congenital malformations significantly. These findings of a recent study (Cassuto et al., 2014) could be confirmed by a multi-center study published in early 2018. The IVF Centers Prof. Zech, too, participated in this retrospective study. Scientifically sound studies - like the one previously quoted - also indicate that a connection exists between the use of intracytoplasmic morphologically selected sperm injection and improved outcomes in terms of the fertilization rate, the number of (top-) blastocysts on the fifth day of in-vitro culture and the pregnancy rate.

Longstanding experience

In 2005, we were the first worldwide to introduce IMSI as a standardized procedure into clinical practice at our IVF centers. This treatment method contributes to improving the chances of getting pregnant by selecting sperm with normal morphology to inseminate the eggs. In addition, we use the IMSI technology for a detailed investigation carried out as part of the semen analysis (spermiogram). Today, our team can draw on the know-how and expertise derived from more than 14 years of successful results achieved through the use of IVF therapies paired with IMSI.

Spermiogram
at the IVF Center

The spermiogram (semen analysis) makes it possible to get a detailed overview of a man's sperm quality and also plays an essential role both in therapy planning and during the treatment. At our IVF Centers, we offer purpose-designed analysis variants, involving molecular-biological detailed analyses of spermatozoa.


CONTACT

NEXTCLINIC IVF Zentren Prof. Zech - Bregenz

Samenauswahl

Samenauswahl

Eizelle und Spermium sind gleichermaßen bedeutsam für die Entwicklung des Embryos. Deshalb wird bei einer Kinderwunschbehandlung besonderes Augenmerk auf deren Qualität gelegt. Betrachtet man den Samenfaktor etwas genauer, dann wird klar, dass die Beurteilung und Auswahl der möglichst besten Spermien zur Befruchtung der Eizelle wichtige Schritte zum ersehnten Kind sind.

Beitrag auf unserem
:
Spermienqualität

IMSI

Die Beurteilung der Spermienqualität kann durch moderne Mikroskopietechniken, wie die "Intrazytoplasmisch Morphologisch Selektierte Spermieninjektion" (IMSI), zusätzlich verbessert werden. Mit einem hochauflösenden Spezial-Mikroskop werden die Spermien mit 6.000-12.000-facher Vergrößerung dreidimensional in Echtzeit, also "live", analysiert. Damit können diese Spermien wesentlich genauer untersucht und für die Befruchtung der Eizelle ausgewählt werden, vor allem im Hinblick auf deren Form und Struktur.

mikroskop1
Die IMSI basiert auf einer Echtzeitanalyse der Spermien mit einem hochauflösenden Mikroskop. Damit lassen sich die Oberflächenstrukuren darstellen, um z.B. kraterähnliche Vertiefungen (Vakuolen) zu erkennen. │ © 2019 IVF Zentren Prof. Zech • Member of NEXTCLINICS
"IMSI versus ICSI"

Die Ursachen des unerfüllten Kinderwunsches sind von Paar zu Paar oft sehr verschieden und erfordern eine individuelle Vorgehensweise. Deshalb rückt auch der männliche Faktor immer mehr ins Zentrum der Wissenschaft. So weiß man heute, dass die Spermien/Samen wesentlich genauer betrachtet werden müssen, um evtl. vorhandene Funktionsstörungen zu erkennen. Diese Störungen können Auswirkungen auf die Befruchtung der Eizelle, die Embryonalentwicklung und unter Umständen auch auf die Gesundheit des Kindes haben.
Ein Vergleich von Kinderwunschbehandlungen mit IMSI und ICSI (Intrazytoplasmische Spermieninjektion) zeigt, dass durch eine detailliertere Spermienanalyse und Auswahl, das Risiko angeborener Fehlbildungen deutlich geringer zu sein scheint. Diese Ergebnisse einer neueren Studie (Cassuto et al., 2014) konnten, auch in einer Anfang 2018 publizierten multizentrischen Studie (Gaspard O, Vanderzwalmen P, Wirleitner B, et al., 2018) unter Beteiligung der IVF Zentren Prof. Zech, verifiziert werden. Fundierte Studien wie diese belegen auch, dass sich mit der Auswahl der morphologisch besten Spermien, die Befruchtungsrate verbessert, die Anzahl an (Top-) Blastozysten am fünften Tag der In-vitro-Kultur zunimmt und die Schwangerschaftsrate ansteigt.

Langjährige Erfahrung

2005 haben wir in unseren Kinderwunschzentren weltweit erstmals eine standardisierte IMSI eingeführt. Diese Behandlungsmethode trägt zur Verbesserung der Schwangerschaftschancen bei, indem die morphologisch besten Spermien für die Befruchtung mit der Eizelle ausgewählt werden. Zudem setzen wir die IMSI-Technologie für eine Detailanalyse im Rahmen des Spermiogramms ein. Unser Team kann heute auf das Know-how aus über 14 Jahren erfolgreicher IVF-Therapien mit IMSI zurückgreifen.

Spermiogramm
im IVF-Zentrum

Das Spermiogramm ermöglicht einen wichtigen Überblick zur Qualität der Spermien des Mannes und spielt sowohl für die Therapieplanung, als auch während der Behandlung eine Rolle. Deshalb bieten wir in unseren IVF-Zentren eigens dafür entwickelte Varianten mit molekularbiologischen Detailanalysen an.


KONTAKT