HBS-graduates enter into cooperation in the field of IVF

After having graduated from Harvard Business School, Dr. Richard Ajayi (OPM 39) and Professors Herbert and Nicolas Zech (OPM 41) have launched cooperation in the field of reproductive medicine.

Dr. Richard Ajayi has pioneered the treatment of involuntary childlessness in Nigeria, where he has been providing fertility treatment for more than 10 years. In recent years, his assisted conception clinic has constantly expanded and he has managed to enlarge the range of medical services in West-, Middle- and East Africa.

Prof. Herbert Zech, looking back on more than 26 years of experience, counts among the internationally renowned personalities from reproductive medicine. Since the IVF Centers Prof. Zech are represented in many European countries, his professional experience includes the different legal requirements in these respective countries. The successful treatment outcome and subsequent births of the first babies following IVF, for instance in Russia (former UdSSR) and Hungary are owed to him. Worldwide, he was the first to adopt ISO standards in the field of reproductive medicine. Together with his team he pioneered many medical innovations and produced numerous papers which were published in high-ranking scientific journals.

Being participants of the Harvard Business School’s Owner/President Management Program (OPM), the three of them have met in Harvard and started discussing the exchange of ideas and the possibility of cooperation. Their intention was to benefit from experience and best practice of both groups involved: Richard in Nigeria who is dealing successfully with African infrastructure challenges on the one hand and Herbert together with his son Nicolas who can look back on years of experience in managing top-level IVF units in several European countries on the other. The fact that quality management is an integral part of success and ongoing training of the employees is essential for achieving the highest possible pregnancy rates (possibly as early as the “first treatment-cycle”) promotes the principle of knowledge-sharing and mutual assistance. Hence, those HBS graduates have launched this very innovative partnership model in order to bring this fast growing African IVF group up to European standards.


Are you wondering whether we really do need In Vitro Fertilization in Africa?

15 - 20 % of couples in the Western world face infertility issues. In Africa this percentage may even be twice as high!

Unwanted childlessness is still regarded as a social stigma in Africa. Couples suffering from fertility problems are still regarded as “failures” and sterility is often enough justification for divorce. Regardless of whether the causes of infertility can be found in the man or the woman, childlessness is usually blamed on the woman.

Sterility is a personal problem and not a social one. The inherent serious consequences that unwanted childlessness may have for Africans, is all the more reason to offer them the best treatment options.

There is an increasing demand for state-of-the-art reproductive treatments in Africa, but since there are no appropriate regulations, it is very difficult to ensure the quality of treatment. This cooperation model makes it possible for Richard and his fertility clinics to get access to tried-and-tested therapies at the highest quality level that are due to be implemented patient-related and effectively in order to improve the already existing high quality standards of his clinics. Both parties agreed on a joint Code of Conduct: “Promoting healthy babies delivered by healthy mothers in compliance with strict safety and ethical standards”.

However, at the moment there is increasing discussion on the introduction of so-called untested “low-cost” treatment methods in Africa. This is unacceptable to many African physicians and is considered to express an arrogant and patronizing attitude resulting from a “new wave of colonization” since those methods are not being applied in the Western world.

The objective of this cooperation is to introduce “first class treatment” in Africa in compliance with the relevant EU Directive [EU Directive on tissues and cells 2004/23/EG)]. These EU standards are considered to be the most stringent regulations in the world.

Moreover, this cooperation represents a global perspective and will create the opportunity to develop new forms of therapy.

A comprehensive and well-structured training and further education program for all team members involves:

  • Process and organization optimization (customer-centric processes)
  • Increasing flexibility – across teams
  • Improving the quality by means of centralized procurement of tested material
  • Promoting cooperation, expanding horizons and deepening skills of individuals and teams
  • Transfer of know-how needed for IVF
  • Room for creative evolvement and personal development
  • Team members will be offered improved opportunities for individual development

...all these activities will help enhance the quality of medical services offered to “our couples”!



Partner Nigeria

IVF Centers Prof. Zech
Tel.: +43 5574 44836
Tel.: +43 662 9010 5000
Tel.: +41 71 950 1580
Tel.: +423 237 6655
Czech Republic
Tel.: +42 0377 279 350
Tel.: +39 0473 270470
providing scientific and technical expertise (Details) for:
The Bridge Clinics
Lagos State, Nigeria
Tel.: +234 1 461 9006

HBS-Absolventen starten IVF-Zusammenarbeit

Harvard Business School (OPM 39) Absolventen Dr. Richard Ajayi und Profs. Herbert und Nicolas Zech (OPM 41) haben nach dem Besuch der Harvard Business School eine Partnerschaft im Bereich der Reproduktionsmedizin gestartet.

Dr. Richard Ajayi ist ein Pionier in der Behandlung der ungewollten Kinderlosigkeit in Nigeria, wo er seit über 10 Jahren aktiv ist und seine Klinik und sein medizinisches Angebot in West-, Mittel-und Ostafrika erweitert.

Prof. Herbert Zech mit über 25 Jahren Erfahrung gehört zu den international anerkannten Persönlichkeiten auf dem Gebiet der Reproduktionsmedizin mit mehreren Kliniken in ganz Europa. Er hat Erfahrung im Umgang mit unterschiedlichen rechtlichen Anforderungen in den einzelnen Ländern. Die ersten Babys nach der Behandlung der Unfruchtbarkeit z.B. in Russland (ehemalige UdSSR) und Ungarn wurden durch seine Hilfe geboren. Er war der erste in der Welt, ISO-Normen auf dem Gebiet der Reproduktionsmedizin zu implementieren. Er und sein Team sind Pioniere für viele wissenschaftliche Innovationen mit zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Publikationen in hochrangigen Zeitschriften.

Diese OPMers begannen in Harvard Diskussionen über den Austausch von Ideen und einer Zusammenarbeit, unter Nutzung der Erfahrung der beiden Gruppen - Richard in Nigeria mit den infrastrukturellen Herausforderungen in Afrika und Herbert, zusammen mit seinem Sohn Nicolas, mit seiner langjährigen Erfahrung in der Führung hochwertiger IVF-Einheiten in mehreren europäischen Staaten. Die Tatsache, dass Qualitätsmanagement integraler Bestandteil des Erfolgs und die Schulung der MitarbeiterInnen entscheidend ist für das Erreichen höchstmöglicher Schwangerschaften beim möglichst "ersten Versuch", unterstützt das Konzept des Austauschs von Wissen und gegenseitiger Hilfestellungen. Daher starteten diese HBS-Absolventen dieses sehr innovative Partnerschaftsmodell, um die schnell wachsende Gruppe in Afrika auf europäischen Standard zu bringen

 

Man mag sich fragen: Warum In vitro Fertilisation in Afrika?

Unfruchtbarkeit trifft etwa 15-20 Prozent der Paare in der westlichen Welt und ist in Afrika wahrscheinlich doppelt so groß!

Ungewollte Kinderlosigkeit in Afrika trägt ein Stigma. Paare mit Unfruchtbarkeit werden als Menschen betrachtet, welche in grundlegender Weise versagt haben und Unfruchtbarkeit ist ein häufiger Rechtfertigungsgrund für eine Scheidung, wobei unabhängig vom Verursacher, in der Regel der Frau  die Schuld angelastet wird.

Unfruchtbarkeit ist ein persönliches und kein gesellschaftliches Problem. Die Folgen der ungewollten Kinderlosigkeit in Afrika rechtfertigen deshalb umso mehr,  die besten Behandlungsoptionen dort anzuwenden.

Es gibt eine zunehmende Nachfrage nach modernen reproduktionsmedizinischen Behandlungen in Afrika und es ist schwierig, die Qualität der Behandlung ohne angemessene Reglementierung, welche nicht existiert, zu sichern. Mit diesem Konzept der Zusammenarbeit, bekommen Richard und seine Kliniken Zugriff auf höchste Qualität und bewährte Therapien, die effizient und patientenbezogen umgesetzt werden können, um die bereits bestehende Qualität der Behandlungen in Richards Kliniken zu verbessern. Beide Parteien haben sich auf einen gemeinsamen Code-of-Conduct verständigt: "Die Geburt eines gesunden Kindes von einer gesunden Mutter unter Einhaltung strengster Sicherheits- und ethischer Standards".

Derzeit gibt es zunehmende Diskussionen über die Implementierung  von sogenannten ungetesteten "low-cost" Behandlungsmethoden in Afrika, die viele afrikanische Ärzte als herablassend qualifizieren und dies im Zusammenhang mit „einer neuen Welle der Kolonialisierung“ betrachten, zumal diese Methoden in der westlichen Welt nicht eingesetzt werden.

Das Ziel dieser Zusammenarbeit ist es, „First-class-Behandlungen“ in Afrika zu implementieren und dabei die EU-Direktive [Zell-und Gewebe-Richtlinie Normen 2004/23/EG)], welche als die strengsten Normen der Welt gelten, in Afrika umzusetzen.

Darüber hinaus schafft dies die Möglichkeit, eine globale Perspektive neuer Therapieformen zu entwickeln

Ein strukturiertes Lehr-und Trainingsangebot für alle Teammitglieder bringt mit sich:

  • Optimierung der Organisation (CustomerCentric gesteuerte Prozesse)
  • Erhöhung der Flexibilität teamübergreifend
  • Verbesserung der Qualität durch zentralisiertes Beschaffen von getestetem  Gebrauchsmaterial
  • Förderung der Zusammenarbeit und Vertiefung des individuellen und des Team-Horizonts
  • IVF-Know-how-Transfer
  • Entfaltung schöpferischer Kräfte
  • Verbesserung der Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten der Teammitglieder
... alle diese Aktivitäten steigern die Qualität des Angebotes für unsere Paare!

 

GoToTop

Partner Nigeria

IVF Zentren Prof. Zech
Österreich
Bregenz
Tel.: +43 5574 44836
zech@ivf.at
Österreich
Salzburg
Tel.: +43 662 9010 5000
office@kinderwunsch-salzburg.at
Schweiz
Niederuzwil
Tel.: +41 71 950 1580
zech@fivet-ivf.ch
Liechtenstein
Vaduz
Tel.: +423 237 6655
zech@ivf.li
Tschechische Republik
Pilsen
Tel.: +42 0377 279 350
zech@ivf-institut.cz
Italien
Meran
Tel.: +39 0473 270470
zech@fivet-ivf.it
Bereitstellung von wissenschaftlicher und technischer Expertise (Details) für:
Nigeria
The Bridge Clinics
Lagos State, Nigeria
Tel.: +234 1 461 9006